Ottawa - Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 34653
Summary
- This 12-month Family Practice Anesthesia residency trains family physicians to provide anesthesia in community settings and leads to eligibility for the CFPC Certificate of Added Competence.
- Most blocks are at The Ottawa Hospital and CHEO, with community anesthesia blocks in towns such as Perth, Smiths Falls and Winchester.
- Residents complete a required small scholarly project, and an optional remote placement in Nunavut is available.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital (TOH)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
- Perth and Smiths Falls District Hospital (PSFDH)
Show all 5Show fewer
- Winchester District Memorial Hospital (WDMH)
- Qikiqtani General Hospital (Nunavut)
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (12 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Call
- In-house and home call · frequency “1:4”
- Highlights
- Optional remote anesthesia placement at Qikiqtani General Hospital in Nunavut.
- Residents join the NOSM FPA summer lecture series by videoconference, with protected time to attend.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Community Anesthesia – Transition to Discipline (2 blocks · Communities in the Ottawa area (e.g. Perth, Smith Falls, Winchester))
- Junior Anesthesia (3 blocks · The Ottawa Hospital)
- Obstetrical Anesthesia (1 block · The Ottawa Hospital)
- Adult ICU (1 block · The Ottawa Hospital)
- Pediatric Anesthesia (2 blocks · The Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO))
- Senior Anesthesia (3 blocks · The Ottawa Hospital)
- Community Anesthesia – Transition to Independent Practice (1 block · Communities in the Ottawa area (e.g. Perth, Smith Falls, Winchester))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital (TOH) (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
- Perth and Smiths Falls District Hospital (PSFDH) (Perth / Smiths Falls · rural or distributed site)
- Winchester District Memorial Hospital (WDMH) (Winchester · rural or distributed site)
- Qikiqtani General Hospital (Nunavut) (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Richard Waldolf
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%