Ottawa - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34604
Summary
- This is a one-year Sport and Exercise Medicine training program at the University of Ottawa, with training at various sites across Ottawa.
- It uses block-based rotations, including primary care sport medicine clinics, rheumatology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, orthopaedics, and an MSK-emergency block.
- Residents act as team physician for two varsity teams, complete a scholarly project, and are expected to sit the CASEM Diploma examination.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Carleton University Sport Medicine Clinic
- University of Ottawa Sport Medicine Clinic
- MedSport Ottawa Clinic
Show all 7Show fewer
- PhysioSport Plus / Active Care
- Optimize Physiotherapy & Sports Medicine Clinic
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital General Campus
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Varsity sport coverage at two universities: University of Ottawa and Carleton University.
- Two 10-station OSCEs with standardized patients each year to prepare for the CASEM exam.
- Training across more than five different primary care sport medicine clinics.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Carleton University Sport Medicine Clinic (8 weeks · Carleton University Sport Medicine Clinic)
- University of Ottawa Sport Medicine Clinic (4 weeks · University of Ottawa Sport Medicine Clinic)
- MedSport Ottawa Clinic (4 weeks · MedSport Ottawa Clinic)
- Community Sport Medicine (4 weeks · PhysioSport Plus / Active Care)
- Optimize Physiotherapy & Sports Medicine Clinic (4 weeks · Optimize Physiotherapy & Sports Medicine Clinic)
- Rheumatology (4 weeks)
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (4 weeks)
- MSK - Emergency Medicine (4 weeks)
- Orthopaedic Surgery or horizontal Orthopaedic clinics + longitudinal plastics clinic (4 weeks)
- Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery (4 weeks)
- MSK radiology (2 weeks)
- Plastics Hand Clinics (2 weeks)
- elective (including the option of International opportunities) (4 weeks)
- vacation (4 weeks)
- Longitudinal Acute Injuries Clinic
- Longitudinal Exercise Medicine and Allied Health Selective
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Carleton University Sport Medicine Clinic (Ottawa)
- University of Ottawa Sport Medicine Clinic (Ottawa)
- MedSport Ottawa Clinic (Ottawa)
- PhysioSport Plus / Active Care (Ottawa)
- Optimize Physiotherapy & Sports Medicine Clinic (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital General Campus (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Lindsay Bradley
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- Sports & Exercise Medicine, Dept. of Family Medicine(opens in a new tab)
- Sport Medicine Orientation Handbook(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%