Ottawa - General Surgery
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioIMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- General Surgery
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 29855
Summary
The University of Ottawa General Surgery Program offers comprehensive training for those interested in academic or community surgery careers. Residents benefit from state-of-the-art simulation training, a Surgical Scientist Program, and diverse clinical experiences across multiple hospital sites in Ottawa.
Training
- Research
- Multiple graduate program domains including Basic Science Research, Clinical Epidemiology, Health Administration, Education, and Public Health, with strong research infrastructure support.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical center in Ottawa, serving a population of 1.3 million in Eastern Ontario, with multiple hospital campuses and diverse clinical settings.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education following Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada specialty training requirements, emphasizing progressive independence and comprehensive surgical skill development.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Tertiary care center
- Community hospitals
- Remote hospital
- Focus areas
- Academic Surgery
- Community Practice Surgery
- Surgical Research
- Surgical Simulation Training
- Patient populations
- General surgery patients
- Cancer patients
- Pediatric patients
- Community and urban patient populations
- Highlights
- Surgical Scientist Program (SSP)
- Skills and Simulation Centre
- Multiple training hospital sites
- Research opportunities through Ottawa Hospital Research Institute
- Strengths
- 5th overall hospital for research funding in Canada
- Second largest cancer center in the country
- Over 50,000 surgical cases per year
- Comprehensive research support through Ottawa Hospital Research Methods Center
- Enhanced skills
- Surgical Scientist Program
- Research training
- Simulation skills training
By year
- PGY-1
- General SurgeryBlocks not specified
- PGY-2
- General SurgeryBlocks not specified
- PGY-3
- General SurgeryBlocks not specified
- PGY-4
- General SurgeryBlocks not specified
- PGY-5
- General SurgeryBlocks not specified
Selection
- What the program looks at
- CV review
- Personal letter
- Letters of reference
- Elective experiences
- Multiple Mini Interviews (MMI)
- MCCQE Part I results disclosure
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 6 Feb 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
- Ottawa Hospital - General Campus
- Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- The Montfort Hospital
- Pembroke Regional Hospital
- Qikiqtani General Hospital
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage