Ottawa - Medical Genetics and Genomics
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Medical Genetics and Genomics
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35395
Summary
- This is a 5-year Medical Genetics and Genomics program combining clinical, laboratory and research rotations.
- Foundations is split between The Ottawa Hospital for adult medicine and CHEO, where senior clinical training is based.
- Research is mandatory, with up to 11 blocks available, and one senior metabolic block is done at SickKids in Toronto.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Ottawa General Hospital
- Civic Hospital
- Riverside Hospital
Show all 6Show fewer
- CHEO
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- Ottawa Fertility Clinic
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house and home call
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Lab training includes exposure to Newborn Screening Ontario, which is based at CHEO.
- Extra molecular lab rotation with the Care4Rare consortium, led from CHEO.
- Genetic counselling co-curriculum for residents, described as first of its kind.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- extra molecular lab rotation focused on working with the Care4Rare team
- metabolic training (senior years · One block · SickKids hospital in Toronto)
- Transition to Discipline (Transition to Discipline)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations)
- Pediatrics (Foundations)
- Maternal-Fetal Medicine (Foundations)
- cytogenetics (Core)
- molecular genetics (Core)
- biochemical genetics (Core)
- general genetics (Core)
- metabolics (Core)
- prenatal genetics (Core)
- cancer genetics (Core)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Mon 26 Oct 20267:00–8:00 pm EST
Info session · Virtual
Link for University of Ottawa, Mon 26 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Ottawa General Hospital (Ottawa)
- Civic Hospital (Ottawa)
- Riverside Hospital (Ottawa)
- CHEO (Ottawa)
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Ottawa Fertility Clinic (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Joanna Lazier
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage