Ottawa - Neurology - Pediatric
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neurology - Pediatric
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36288
Summary
- This is a 5-year pediatric neurology residency based at the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), a tertiary pediatric hospital.
- Residents also rotate at The Ottawa Hospital for adult neurology, The Ottawa Eye Institute, and the Ottawa Children's Treatment Centre.
- Residents are expected to do scholarly work and get research blocks for it, and they may choose a one-week outreach clinic in Iqaluit, Nunavut.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
- The Ottawa Hospital (General and Civic Campus; Adult Neurology)
- The Ottawa Eye Institute
Show all 5Show fewer
- The Ottawa Children’s Treatment Centre (OCTC; Developmental Pediatrics)
- Qikiqtani General Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Optional subspecialty outreach clinics in Nunavut at Qikiqtani General Hospital.
- Annual pediatric neurology retreat held jointly with McGill and Université de Montréal programs.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- pediatric wards (Transition to Discipline)
- emergency room (Transition to Discipline)
- pediatric neurology clinics/wards (Transition to Discipline)
- Pediatric Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) (Foundations)
- Emergency Room (Foundations)
- Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (Foundations)
- Pediatric Neurology and Neurosurgery (Foundations)
- Genetics and Metabolics (Foundations)
- Developmental Pediatrics (Foundations)
- Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (Foundations)
- Pediatric Rehabilitation (Foundations)
- adult neurology rotations (Core · 6 months)
- Epilepsy/EEG (Core)
- Neuromuscular/EMG (Core)
- Neuropathology (Core)
- Neuroradiology (Core)
- Neuroophthalmology (Core)
- research blocks (Core)
- community neurology rotations (Core)
- subspecialty electives (Core)
- Iqaluit, Nunavut outreach clinic (Core · one week · Iqaluit, Nunavut)
- electives (Transition to Practice)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital (General and Civic Campus; Adult Neurology) (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Eye Institute (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Children’s Treatment Centre (OCTC; Developmental Pediatrics) (Ottawa)
- Qikiqtani General Hospital (Iqaluit · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Katie Muir
Dr. Amanda Yaworski
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage