Ottawa - Neurology
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neurology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36054
Summary
- This is a five-year neurology residency with inpatient training on the General Neurology and Neurovascular CTUs at the Civic Campus.
- Near the end of first year, residents choose a research stream with dedicated research time and yearly deliverables, or a clinical stream requiring a scholarly project.
- Residents run their own weekly General Neurology Clinic over the last three years, and up to ten months of elective/selective time are available.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
- Ottawa Hospital - General Campus
- Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus
Show all 10Show fewer
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
- Ottawa Hospital Research Institute
- Queensway Carleton Hospital
- Montfort Hospital
- Hawkesbury General Hospital
- Royal Ottawa Regional Rehabilitation Centre
- Ottawa Heart Institute
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Residents choose a research stream or a clinical stream near the end of PGY1.
- Each resident runs their own weekly longitudinal General Neurology Clinic during the last three years.
By year
- PGY-1
- CTU
- NVU
- IM CTU
- IM
- ICU
- ER
- Psy
- Pall
- ID
- Con
- PGY-2
- NVU
- CTU
- Con
- Throm-bosis
- NRAD
- NOp/ Dizzy
- Conc/HA
- IM Selec
- IM or NRL Selec
- Res
- PGY-3
- CTU
- NVU
- Con
- EEG
- H/A
- EMG
- MVT/ COG
- MS/ Infl.
- Res
- PGY-4
- CTU
- NVU "junior staff"
- Con
- EMG
- Path
- NRL Selec
- PEDS
- NRL Cmty
- Res
- PGY-5
- CTU “junior staff”
- Con
- PEDS
- NRL Selec
- Res
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Hospital - General Campus (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (Ottawa)
- Queensway Carleton Hospital (Nepean)
- Montfort Hospital (Ottawa)
- Hawkesbury General Hospital (Hawkesbury · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Ottawa Regional Rehabilitation Centre (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Heart Institute (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Christine De Meulemeester
Dr. Bryce Durafourt
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage