Ottawa - Neurosurgery
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 6 years
- CMG
- Neurosurgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36239
Summary
- The University of Ottawa neurosurgery residency is a six-year program, with optional additional research years after PGY-2.
- Training takes place at The Ottawa Hospital and the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario, which perform about 1800 neurosurgical operations a year.
- Interviews use a multiple mini interview format with 4 stations.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital (TOH)
- Civic Campus of the Ottawa Hospital
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Residents are offered attendance at the R.U.N.N. basic neuroscience review course in Woods Hole, MA.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Surgical Foundations curriculum
- Emergency Medicine
- General Surgery- Trauma
- Pediatric Neurosurgery
- Neuroradiology
- Neuropathology
- ICU
- Interventional Radiology
- Neurology
- Vascular Surgery
- Orthopedic Surgery (emphasis on spine service)
- Thoracic Surgery
- Internal Medicine
- Research
- Extensive training in Neurosurgery
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 Jan 2027
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
| PGY-6 | $104,167 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital (TOH) (Ottawa)
- Civic Campus of the Ottawa Hospital (Ottawa)
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Brian Drake
Residency Program Director, Division of Neurosurgery
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage