Ottawa - Plastic Surgery
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Plastic Surgery
- 0–50
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35720
Summary
- The University of Ottawa Plastic Surgery residency is a 5-year program, with PGY1-2 forming part of the Surgical Foundations Program.
- Training takes place at Ottawa Hospital campuses, CHEO and community sites, with 2 burn blocks in another city.
- Residents in second to fifth year are expected to produce a publishable paper each year, with protected time.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
- General Campus
- Riverside (outpatient)
Show all 9Show fewer
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
- Queensway Carleton Hospital
- Arnprior Regional Health Centre
- Almonte General Hospital
- Ross Tilley Burn Centre & Sunnybrook
- Private Facilities in both Ottawa and Gatineau (Aesthetic Clinic)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Resident aesthetic clinic where residents manage aesthetic patients with significant autonomy; one of three in Canada.
- Two months each year in the anatomy dissection lab practising free tissue transfers and surgical exposures.
- A division research assistant is available to support resident projects.
By year
- PGY-2
- Burns2 blocks
Other rotations
- Adult Plastic Surgery (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · Blocks 1-2)
- Emergency medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
- Orthopaedic surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
- General surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
- MOH's (Foundations of Discipline)
- ICU (Foundations of Discipline)
- Plastic Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 12-13 blocks)
- Otolaryngology (Foundations of Discipline)
- Vascular (Foundations of Discipline)
- Neurosurgery (Foundations of Discipline)
- Oculoplastic Surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
- Oral Surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
- Adult Plastic Surgery (Transition to Practice)
- elective (4th year · 2 one-month elective blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- General Campus (Ottawa)
- Riverside (outpatient) (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
- Queensway Carleton Hospital (Ottawa)
- Arnprior Regional Health Centre (Arnprior)
- Almonte General Hospital (Almonte)
- Ross Tilley Burn Centre & Sunnybrook (Toronto)
- Private Facilities in both Ottawa and Gatineau (Aesthetic Clinic)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Simon Frank
Program Director
Sarah Shiga
Assistant Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage