Ottawa - Psychiatry
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 9 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Psychiatry
- 401–600
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36374
Summary
- The University of Ottawa Psychiatry program is a 5-year residency based at six Ottawa teaching hospitals, including the Royal Ottawa Hospital and CHEO.
- Psychotherapy training is longitudinal from PGY2 to PGY4, and all residents complete a mandatory scholarly project with protected time.
- Rotations can be done in French and English, and there are no mandatory rural rotations.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital General Campus
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
Show all 6Show fewer
- The Royal Ottawa Hospital
- Montfort Hospital
- Queensway Carleton Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Residents can complete rotations in French as well as English.
- Faculty run the national psychiatry review course every year.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- psychiatry (Transition to Discipline · two blocks)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations)
- Family Medicine (Foundations)
- Endocrinology (Foundations)
- Geriatric Medicine (Foundations)
- Adult and Child Emergency Medicine (Foundations)
- Neurology (Foundations)
- Palliative Care (Foundations)
- Psychiatric Emergency Service (Foundations)
- Addictions (Foundations)
- Intellectual Developmental Disorder (Foundations)
- Under-Serviced Psychiatry (Foundations)
- General Hospital Adult Inpatient psychiatry (Foundations · 6 mos · Civic, General, MFH & ROH & QCH)
- General Hospital Adult Outpatient psychiatry (Foundations · 6 mos · Civic, General & MFH & ROH & QCH)
- Child & Adolescent psychiatry (Core · 5 mos · CHEO & ROH)
- Geriatric psychiatry (Core · 5 mos · ROH & MFH & TOH)
- Severe & Persistent Mental Illness (Core · 6 mos · ROH, MFH & TOH)
- Consultation-Liaison psychiatry (Core · 3 mos · Civic, General, & MFH)
- Shared & Collaborative Care (Core · 5 mos · Civic, General, & MFH & QCH)
- Psychotherapy (Core · longitudinal for PGY2 - 4 · All teaching sites)
- Electives (Transition to Practice · 7 blocks)
- Electives (Transition to Practice · 6 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28 and 29 Jan 2027; 1, 2, 4 and 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Tue 3 Nov 20266:00–8:00 pm (time zone not stated)
Info session · Virtual · For all applicants
Link for University of Ottawa, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital General Campus (Ottawa)
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
- The Royal Ottawa Hospital (Ottawa)
- Montfort Hospital (Ottawa)
- Queensway Carleton Hospital (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Sephora Tang
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage