Ottawa - Psychiatry
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioIMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- IMG
- Psychiatry
- 401–600
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36131
Summary
- The University of Ottawa Psychiatry program is a 5-year residency based at Ottawa hospitals including The Ottawa Hospital, CHEO, The Royal Ottawa Hospital and Montfort Hospital.
- Residents complete a mandatory scholarly project with protected time, and psychotherapy training is longitudinal across PGY2–4.
- Matched IMGs must complete the Pre-Residency Program and fulfil an Ontario return-of-service commitment after training.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital General Campus
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario
Show all 6Show fewer
- The Royal Ottawa Hospital
- Montfort Hospital
- Queensway Carleton Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Faculty run the national psychiatry review course annually.
- Rotations available in both French and English.
- Residents attend Ottawa, London and Toronto psychiatry review courses in senior years.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Transition to Discipline/Foundations (Transition to Discipline/Foundations · 12 mos · Civic, General & MFH & ROH)
- General Hospital Adult Inpatient psychiatry (Foundations · 6 mos · Civic, General, MFH & ROH)
- General Hospital Adult Outpatient psychiatry (Foundations · 6 mos · Civic, General & MFH, ROH)
- Child & Adolescent psychiatry (Core · 5 mos · CHEO & ROH)
- Geriatric psychiatry (Core · 5 mos · ROH & MFH)
- Severe & Persistent Mental Illness (Core · 6 mos · ROH, MFH & General)
- Consultation-Liaison psychiatry (Core · 3 mos · Civic, General, & MFH)
- Shared & Collaborative Care (Core · 2 mos · Civic, General, & MFH)
- Psychotherapy (Core · longitudinal for PGY 2- 4 · All teaching sites)
- Electives (Transition to Practice · 7 blocks)
- Electives (Transition to Practice · 6 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- “Any applicant below the average for the examination or below the top 30% of applicants will not be considered further.”
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28 and 29 Jan 2027; 1, 2, 4 and 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital General Campus (Ottawa)
- Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
- The Royal Ottawa Hospital (Ottawa)
- Montfort Hospital (Ottawa)
- Queensway Carleton Hospital (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Sephora Tang
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage