Ottawa - Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35975
Summary
- This is a 5-year Public Health and Preventive Medicine residency whose first two years are integrated with uOttawa Family Medicine.
- The third year is dedicated to graduate-level academic coursework in epidemiology, biostatistics and public health sciences.
- Public health rotations take place at local, provincial and federal agencies, including the Public Health Agency of Canada and Department of National Defence.
Training
- Setting
- Public health agency
- Urban community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- Ottawa Public Health
- School of Epidemiology and Public Health
- Ottawa Hospital campuses
Show all 11Show fewer
- Public Health Agency of Canada
- Department of National Defence
- Indigenous Services Canada - First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
- Public Health Ontario
- Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health
- Santé Québec Outaouais
- Eastern Ontario Health Unit
- South East Health Unit
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research project
- Training language
- English and French
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Highlights
- Core and elective training in federal government agencies, including PHAC, ISC-FNIHB and National Defence.
- Residents may spend half a day per week in supervised family medicine clinical practice.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Academic Training (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 10)
- Surveillance/ Epidemiology (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 3)
- Health Promotion/ Disease Prevention (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 3)
- Communicable Disease/ Health Protection (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 2 blocks junior & 3 blocks senior · local public health unit)
- Environmental Health (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 3)
- Public Health Policy & Planning (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 3)
- Senior Management and Leadership (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 6)
- elective (Core and Transition to Practice · Six blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 2026time not stated
Info session · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for University of Ottawa, Thu 5 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Ottawa Public Health (Ottawa)
- School of Epidemiology and Public Health (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Hospital campuses (Ottawa)
- Public Health Agency of Canada
- Department of National Defence
- Indigenous Services Canada - First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
- Public Health Ontario
- Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health
- Santé Québec Outaouais
- Eastern Ontario Health Unit (rural or distributed site)
- South East Health Unit (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Robert Cushman
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%