Ottawa - Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioIMG streamNew for 2027
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35346
Summary
- This 5-year uOttawa PHPM program integrates its first two years with the University of Ottawa Family Medicine Program.
- The third year is dedicated to graduate-level academic coursework in epidemiology, biostatistics and other public health sciences.
- PHPM rotations take place at federal, provincial and local public health organizations, including the Public Health Agency of Canada and Ottawa Public Health.
Training
- Setting
- Public health agency
- Urban community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- Ottawa Public Health
- Eastern Ontario Health Unit
- Santé Québec Outaouais
Show all 11Show fewer
- Public Health Ontario
- Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health
- Department of National Defence
- Indigenous Services Canada
- Public Health Agency of Canada
- South East Health Unit
- School of Epidemiology and Public Health
- Ottawa Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research project
- Training language
- English and French
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Highlights
- Core and elective training within federal government agencies, including PHAC, Indigenous Services Canada and National Defence.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Academic Training (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 10)
- Surveillance/ Epidemiology (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 3)
- Health Promotion/ Disease Prevention (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 3)
- Communicable Disease/ Health Protection (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 2 blocks junior & 3 blocks senior · local public health unit)
- Environmental Health (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 3)
- Public Health Policy & Planning (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 3)
- Senior Management and Leadership (Years 3-5 of the Family Medicine Stream · 6)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- “Candidates must have had some public health practice experience in Canada before applying”
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 2026time not stated
Info session · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for University of Ottawa, Thu 5 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Ottawa Public Health (Ottawa)
- Eastern Ontario Health Unit
- Santé Québec Outaouais
- Public Health Ontario
- Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health
- Department of National Defence
- Indigenous Services Canada
- Public Health Agency of Canada
- South East Health Unit
- School of Epidemiology and Public Health (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Hospital (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Robert Cushman
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%