Ottawa - Radiation Oncology
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Radiation Oncology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36393
Summary
- This 5-year radiation oncology program is based at The Ottawa Hospital Cancer Centre, the sole radiation oncology provider for Eastern Ontario.
- Core training includes a four-week pediatric rotation at Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto and a community radiation oncology rotation.
- Residents must complete at least one research project and may designate up to 6 four-week rotations as research time.
- Matched IMGs must complete the Pre-Residency Program and a return-of-service commitment in Ontario.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital - General Site
- The Ottawa Hospital - Queensway Site (Irving Greenberg Family Cancer Centre)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
Show all 4Show fewer
- Princess Margaret Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- MR-Linac operational since June 2025, plus an MR-simulator.
- Stereotactic program using a CyberKnife unit replaced in 2024.
- Up to 6 four-week rotations can be designated as research time.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- boot camp (TRANSITION TO DISCIPLINE · two-week)
- outpatient clinics (TRANSITION TO DISCIPLINE · 6 weeks)
- general medicine and surgery (FOUNDATIONS)
- clinical/laboratory outpatient radiation oncology (FOUNDATIONS)
- inpatient radiation oncology (FOUNDATIONS)
- medical oncology (FOUNDATIONS)
- subspecialties related to oncology (FOUNDATIONS)
- pediatric oncology (CORE · four-week · Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto)
- community based radiation oncology practice (CORE)
- introduction to radiotherapy treatment planning (2nd year · two-week)
- treatment planning (end of their 4th year · four-week)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 2 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Ottawa Hospital - General Site (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital - Queensway Site (Irving Greenberg Family Cancer Centre) (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
- Princess Margaret Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Joanne Meng
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage