Ottawa - Unit based - Family Medicine
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioIMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 2 years
- IMG
- Family Medicine
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Accredited
- 36246
Summary
- This is a two-year Family Medicine residency in Ottawa, with residents based at one of four teaching units or a community preceptor's office.
- Training includes at least ten months of Family Medicine and two months of rural practice, with one rural rotation in each year.
- Matched IMGs must complete the Pre-Residency Program and fulfil an Ontario return-of-service commitment after training.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Civic Family Medicine Centre
- Riverside Family Medicine Centre
- Bruyère Family Medicine Centre
Show all 6Show fewer
- Primrose Family Medicine Centre
- Civic Campus of the Ottawa Hospital
- General Campus of the Ottawa Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Anesthesia
- Palliative Care
- Care of the Elderly
- Addiction Medicine
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Women's Health
- Maternity and Newborn Care
- Indigenous Health
- Mental Health
- Other
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Highlights
- Residents sit on every key departmental committee, shaping curriculum, wellness and advocacy priorities.
- Monthly department-wide academic full days instead of weekly half-days.
By year
- PGY-1
- Rural Family Medicine4 Weeks
- Electives4 Weeks
- Core Family Medicine6+Continuity Clinic
- Internal Med.
- Peds ER
- Psych
- Obstetrics
- EM
- PGY-2
- Core Family Medicine4 Blocks + continuity Clinic
- Electives8 Weeks
- Rural Family Medicine4 Weeks
- Internal Med.
- FM/Peds
- Geriatrics
- Palliative
- FM
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- Applications per year
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applicants offered interviews
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 15 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Civic Family Medicine Centre (Ottawa)
- Riverside Family Medicine Centre (Ottawa)
- Bruyère Family Medicine Centre (Ottawa)
- Primrose Family Medicine Centre (Ottawa)
- Civic Campus of the Ottawa Hospital (Ottawa)
- General Campus of the Ottawa Hospital (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 1 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 20 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Sohil Rangwala
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage