Peel & Surrounding Communities - Emergency Medicine
Toronto Metropolitan UniversityPeel & Surrounding Communities, OntarioCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35778
Summary
- TMU's five-year Emergency Medicine residency, accredited by the Royal College in October 2024, trains residents at sites spread across Peel and the surrounding region.
- The curriculum includes longitudinal family medicine clinics, and the final year is set aside for an Area of Advanced Learning.
- Through the LEARN Time program, residents who meet program standards can get protected time for scholarly, leadership and advocacy activities.
Training
- Setting
- Urban community
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- William Osler Health System
- Trillium Health Partners
- Headwaters Health Care Centre
Show all 7Show fewer
- Halton Healthcare
- Peel Region
- ErinoakKids
- Michael Garron Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Underserved urban
- Research
- Offered · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Highlights
- Longitudinal family medicine clinics built into emergency medicine training, showing care from emergency through primary care.
- LEARN Time gives residents who meet program standards protected time for scholarly, leadership and advocacy work.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline · 3 Blocks (12 weeks))
- Internal Medicine Clinical Teaching Unit (CTU) (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Dermatology/Ophthalmology, Plastics, ENT (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Anesthesia (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Musculoskeletal/Sports Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Point-of-Care Ultrasound/Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Emergency Medicine with Longitudinal Family Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Pediatric CTU (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Goal-Directed Experience (Elective) (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Emergency Medicine (Core of Discipline · 20 Blocks (80 weeks))
- Neurology (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Emergency Psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- General Surgery (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Obstetrics/Gynecology (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Addiction Medicine (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Community Emergency Medicine (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Trauma (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Cardiology (Coronary Care Unit and Cardiac Intensive Care Unit) (Core of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
- Intensive Care (Core of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
- Anesthesia (Pediatric and Adult) (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Prehospital Care (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Toxicology (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Goal-Directed Experiences (Electives) (Core of Discipline · 4 Blocks (16 weeks))
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to Practice · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
- Advanced Area of Learning (with longitudinal Emergency Medicine) (Transition to Practice · 11 Blocks (44 weeks))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Wed 14 Oct 20268:00 pm ET
Info session · Virtual
Link for Toronto Metropolitan University, Wed 14 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Wed 11 Nov 202610:00 am ET
Info session · Virtual · For all applicants
Link for Toronto Metropolitan University, Wed 11 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- William Osler Health System
- Trillium Health Partners
- Headwaters Health Care Centre
- Halton Healthcare
- Peel Region
- ErinoakKids
- Michael Garron Hospital
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Jennifer Chu
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Peel & Surrounding Communities, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it. This label covers more than one place, so each is listed on its own (A to Z); open one to read it.
Brampton
Climate
- January average
- −5.0 °C
- July average
- 22.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 2.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 656,480 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.5% · French only 0.1% · English and French 4.5% · neither 4.9%
- Immigrants
- 52.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 10.3% · walking or cycling 1.6% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $111,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.053
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage
Mississauga
Climate
- January average
- −5.0 °C
- July average
- 22.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 2.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 717,961 people
- Official languages
- English only 89.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.7% · neither 3.4%
- Immigrants
- 53.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.7% · public transit 11.4% · walking or cycling 3.2% · other 2.7%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.044
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage