Skip to content
CdnMD

Peel & Surrounding Communities - Family Medicine - Palliative Care

Toronto Metropolitan UniversityPeel & Surrounding Communities, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

Also at TMU, outside the CaRMS match: FM/ES programs through Ontario’s physician re-entry program, 1 year full time, for practising or certified family physicians. Applications: No single close date stated (as of 10 Oct 2026). See it ›: FM/ES programs through Ontario’s physician re-entry program, on the list of programs applied for at the school

From the school’s own pages, not CaRMS; you apply to the school, on its dates. Confirm on the school’s page before you apply.

CaRMS program description, FM/ES 2027 match, last approved 28 Jul 2026

Positions (approx. quota)
3 positions
Length
1 year
Stream
Competitive
Discipline
Family Medicine - Palliative Care
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
34621

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This 1-year enhanced skills program trains family medicine residents in primary and consultant palliative care.
  • Residents rotate at community sites in Peel and surrounding regions, including hospitals in Brampton, Mississauga, Oakville and Newmarket and a hospice in Vaughan.
  • The sample schedule includes 16 weeks of hospital-based palliative care, 12 weeks of comprehensive palliative care, and 12 weeks of electives.

Training

Setting
  • Urban community
Sites

5 teaching sites

  • William Osler Health System
  • Trillium Health Partners
  • Hospice Vaughan
Show all 5
  • Halton Healthcare
  • Southlake Health

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Procedural emphasis
  • Underserved urban
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
Highlights
  • Supervised training in point-of-care ultrasound and paracentesis for palliative care patients.
  • A reflective curriculum runs through the year and is led by allied health staff.
  • Applicants fill in a Regional Connection Attestation about their ties to Brampton/Peel, and it is used in selection.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Hospital-Based Palliative Care (Hospital + Ambulatory Care Clinic) (4 Blocks (16 weeks))
  • Comprehensive Palliative Care (Hospital + Ambulatory Clinic + Home Visits/Residential Hospice) (3 Blocks (12 weeks))
  • Community Palliative Care (Residential Hospice + Home Visits) (1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Oncology (2 weeks Radiation Oncology) (1 Block: (4 weeks))
  • Geriatric Medicine/Care of the Elderly (1 Block (4 weeks))
  • Elective (3 Blocks (12 weeks))

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
14 Oct 2026
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • William Osler Health System (Brampton)
  • Trillium Health Partners (Mississauga)
  • Hospice Vaughan (Vaughan/Woodbridge)
  • Halton Healthcare (Oakville)
  • Southlake Health (Newmarket)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

pgme.es.pc@torontomu.ca

Shared by Katie Wang · Program Administrator and Matthew Armour · Program Administrator

Program director

  • Dr. Karim Manji

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Peel & Surrounding Communities, Ontario

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it. This label covers more than one place, so each is listed on its own (A to Z); open one to read it.

Brampton

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−5.0 °C Toronto Pearson (Airport), 10.6 km away
July average
22.1 °C Toronto Pearson (Airport), 10.6 km away
Snowfall
114.5 cm a year Toronto Pearson (Airport), 10.6 km away
Days below −20 °C
2.7 days a year Toronto Pearson (Airport), 10.6 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Brampton, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
656,480 people up 10.6% from 2016
Official languages
English only 90.5% · French only 0.1% · English and French 4.5% · neither 4.9% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
52.9% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 7.7% · non-permanent residents: 6.2%
Indigenous identity
0.5% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 10.3% · walking or cycling 1.6% · other 2.2% Average commute: 29.8 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$111,000 before tax $98,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 5,647,656 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.053 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
3.0% October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$62,880 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Toronto, Ontario, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
6.9% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.3 points. A survey estimate.

Mississauga

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−5.0 °C Toronto Pearson (Airport), 9.4 km away
July average
22.1 °C Toronto Pearson (Airport), 9.4 km away
Snowfall
114.5 cm a year Toronto Pearson (Airport), 9.4 km away
Days below −20 °C
2.7 days a year Toronto Pearson (Airport), 9.4 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Mississauga, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
717,961 people down 0.5% from 2016
Official languages
English only 89.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.7% · neither 3.4% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
53.2% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 7.4% · non-permanent residents: 3.8%
Indigenous identity
0.5% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 82.7% · public transit 11.4% · walking or cycling 3.2% · other 2.7% Average commute: 27.6 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$102,000 before tax $89,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 5,647,656 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.044 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
3.0% October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$62,880 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Toronto, Ontario, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
6.9% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.3 points. A survey estimate.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.