Peel & Surrounding Communities - General Surgery
Toronto Metropolitan UniversityPeel & Surrounding Communities, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- General Surgery
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36205
Summary
- This 5-year general surgery residency accepts two residents per year and is based at William Osler Health System's Brampton Civic, Etobicoke and Peel Memorial sites.
- Residents also rotate through affiliate sites, with trauma and pediatric surgery rotations provided through McMaster University.
- Research participation is required, and IMG applicants must complete a Ontario return-of-service commitment after training.
Training
- Setting
- Urban community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- William Osler Health System
- Brampton Civic
- Etobicoke
Show all 11Show fewer
- Peel Memorial
- Trillium Health Partners
- Credit Valley
- Headwaters Health Care Center
- Halton Healthcare
- Department of General Surgery at McMaster University
- Peel Region
- Michael Garron Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Highlights
- LEARN Time gives residents meeting standards protected time for leadership, education, advocacy, research and non-clinical activities.
- Six blocks of community general surgery in the Core of Discipline stage.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- General Surgery (Transition to Discipline · 4 Blocks (16 weeks))
- General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 8 Blocks (32 weeks))
- Intensive Care Unit (Foundations of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
- Pediatric Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Plastic Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
- Urology (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Vascular Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Medical/Surgical Consults (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Trauma (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- General Surgery (Acute Care Surgery Focus) (Core of Discipline · 5 Blocks (20 weeks))
- General Surgery (Gastrointestinal Focus) (Core of Discipline · 3 Blocks (12 weeks))
- General Surgery (Hepatobiliary Focus) (Core of Discipline · 3 Blocks (12 weeks))
- General Surgery (Oncology Focus) (Core of Discipline · 3 Blocks (12 weeks))
- Community General Surgery (Core of Discipline · 6 Blocks (24 weeks))
- Endoscopy (Core of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
- Thoracic Surgery (Core of Discipline · 2 Blocks (8 weeks))
- Vascular Surgery (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Head and Neck Surgery (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Research (Core of Discipline · 1 Block (4 weeks))
- Elective (Core of Discipline · 6 Blocks (24 weeks))
- General Surgery (Transition to Practice · 5 Blocks (20 weeks))
- Community General Surgery (Transition to Practice · 1 Block (4 weeks))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 31 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Wed 28 Oct 20265:30 pm EDT
Info session · Virtual
Link for Toronto Metropolitan University, Wed 28 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- William Osler Health System (Brampton)
- Brampton Civic (Brampton)
- Etobicoke
- Peel Memorial (Brampton)
- Trillium Health Partners (Mississauga)
- Credit Valley
- Headwaters Health Care Center
- Halton Healthcare
- Department of General Surgery at McMaster University
- Peel Region
- Michael Garron Hospital
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Fady Saleh
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Peel & Surrounding Communities, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it. This label covers more than one place, so each is listed on its own (A to Z); open one to read it.
Brampton
Climate
- January average
- −5.0 °C
- July average
- 22.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 2.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 656,480 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.5% · French only 0.1% · English and French 4.5% · neither 4.9%
- Immigrants
- 52.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 10.3% · walking or cycling 1.6% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $111,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.053
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage
Mississauga
Climate
- January average
- −5.0 °C
- July average
- 22.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 2.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 717,961 people
- Official languages
- English only 89.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.7% · neither 3.4%
- Immigrants
- 53.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 82.7% · public transit 11.4% · walking or cycling 3.2% · other 2.7%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.044
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage