Prince Albert - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
University of SaskatchewanPrince Albert, SaskatchewanCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 37024
Summary
- This 1-year family medicine–emergency medicine program leads to the Certificate of Added Competency in Emergency Medicine (CCFP-EM).
- Training is based mainly at Victoria Hospital in Prince Albert, with adjunct tertiary rotations in Saskatoon.
- Residents complete a required QI project and have access to formal point-of-care ultrasound training.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Victoria Hospital
- Royal University Hospital
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- St. Paul's Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Northern
- POCUS curriculum
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Training site with higher trauma levels per capita than most Canadian cities.
- Residents help manage critically ill patients from northern outpost clinics via the northern referral centre.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (20 weeks · Victoria Hospital (VH))
- Anesthesia (4 weeks · Victoria Hospital (VH))
- Community ICU (2 weeks · Victoria Hospital (VH))
- ICU (4 weeks · Royal University Hospital (RUH)/ St. Paul’s Hospital (SPH))
- CCU (4 weeks · Royal University Hospital (RUH))
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (JPCH))
- Trauma (2 weeks · Royal University Hospital (RUH))
- Plastic Surgery (2 weeks · St. Paul’s Hospital (SPH))
- Orthopedic Surgery (2 weeks · Royal University Hospital (RUH))
- Selective (4 weeks)
- Elective (4 weeks)
- Longitudinal Emergency Medicine administration (Victoria Hospital (VH))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 6 and 7 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- Victoria Hospital (Prince Albert)
- Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Saskatoon)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Desiree Rouleau
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Matthew Parsons
FM-EM Prince Albert Site Director
Cobus Van Der Merwe
FM-EM Prince Albert Site Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- USask Family Medicine(opens in a new tab)
- City of Saskatoon(opens in a new tab)
- Tourism Saskatoon(opens in a new tab)
- Saskatoon Regional Economic Development Authority(opens in a new tab)
- Sask Houses (Private Home Sales)(opens in a new tab)
- Saskatoon Region Association of Realtors(opens in a new tab)
- Tourism Saskatchewan(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −17.2 °C
- July average
- 17.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 111.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 58.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 37,756 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.2% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.2% · neither 0.5%
- Immigrants
- 9.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 44.7% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 91.8% · public transit 1.7% · walking or cycling 4.1% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $74,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Prince Albert, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.312
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 5.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,682 a year