Prince Albert - Family Medicine - Enhanced Surgical Skills
University of SaskatchewanPrince Albert, SaskatchewanCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
Also at USask, outside the CaRMS match: Rural and Regional Physician Enhancement Training, A third year of training; physicians’ funding prorated to program length, for residents (PGY-2) and practising or certified family physicians. Applications: No dates published (as of 10 Oct 2026). See it ›: Rural and Regional Physician Enhancement Training, on the list of programs applied for at the school
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Enhanced Surgical Skills
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34579
Summary
- This 1-year program trains family physicians in enhanced general surgical and obstetrical skills to provide surgical care in low-resource environments.
- Completion leads to eligibility for a Certificate of Added Competence in Enhanced Surgical Skills.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- Victoria Hospital
- Co-operative Health Center
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Alternating two-to-three-month surgery and obstetrics rotations after a short initial block in both services.
- Opportunity to accompany consultants to La Ronge and Nipawin for consultation and procedural day clinics.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Obstetrics / Gynecology (25 weeks · Prince Albert)
- General Surgery (25 weeks · Prince Albert)
- ESS Rural Elective (1-2 weeks · Rural community with practicing ESS physician)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 7 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- Victoria Hospital (Prince Albert)
- Co-operative Health Center (Prince Albert)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Dr. Vijayalakshmi Udayasankar
Obstetrics & Gynecology Coordinator
Dr. Ruth O'Carroll & Dr. Alexander Aikoye
General Surgery Coordinator
Program director
Dr. Aimee Seguin
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- USask Family Medicine(opens in a new tab)
- City of Prince Albert(opens in a new tab)
- Tourism Prince Albert(opens in a new tab)
- Prince Albert Regional Economic Development Alliance(opens in a new tab)
- Prince Albert Housing Authority(opens in a new tab)
- Tourism Saskatchewan(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −17.2 °C
- July average
- 17.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 111.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 58.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 37,756 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.2% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.2% · neither 0.5%
- Immigrants
- 9.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 44.7% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 91.8% · public transit 1.7% · walking or cycling 4.1% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $74,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Prince Albert, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.312
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 5.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,682 a year