Québec - Chirurgie cardiaque
Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 1 position
- 6 years
- Regular
- Chirurgie cardiaque
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 29292
Summary
The Université Laval Cardiac Surgery Residency Program aims to train competent and autonomous cardiac surgeons. The program offers comprehensive training across all cardiac surgery spheres at the Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec, which has the highest surgical volume in Canada.
Training
- Research
- Opportunities for academic enrichment and research in cardiac, thoracic, and vascular surgery
- Training setting
- Training occurs at two primary sites: Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (adult cardiac surgery) and CHU de Québec (pediatric cardiac surgery) in Quebec City.
- Teaching approach
- Progressive, competency-based training with gradual increase in surgical complexity and autonomy, focusing on direct observation and continuous evaluation of professional activities.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Tertiary care center
- Focus areas
- Coronary surgery
- Valvular surgery
- Minimally invasive surgery
- Aortic surgery
- Arrhythmia surgery
- Heart failure surgery
- Congenital cardiac surgery
- Pediatric cardiac surgery
- Patient populations
- Adult cardiac patients
- Pediatric cardiac patients
- Heart failure patients
- Congenital heart disease patients
- Cardiac transplant patients
- Highlights
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME)
- Wet lab surgical skills training
- Invited professors
- Specialized courses
- National and international conference attendance
- High surgical exposure (300-600 operations as primary surgeon)
- Strengths
- Highest surgical volume cardiac surgery program in Canada
- Comprehensive surgical exposure across all cardiac surgery domains
- Strong academic and research infrastructure
- Competency-Based Medical Education approach
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- What the program looks at
- Academic record
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Curriculum vitae
- Interview
- Direct clinical observation
- Annual written examinations
- Oral examinations
- Competent Professional Activities (CPA) evaluation
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 20 janvier 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
| PGY-6 | $89,131 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec
- CHU de Québec
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
- Licensed beds
- physical health 338
CHU de Québec
Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
- Licensed beds
- physical health 254
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Québec, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −11.3 °C
- July average
- 20.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 298.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 20.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 549,459 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.4% · French only 56.5% · English and French 42.7% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 8.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 78.6% · public transit 10.8% · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $70,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Québec, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.143
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $49,394 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage