Québec - Chirurgie plastique
Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 1 position
- 6 years
- Regular
- Chirurgie plastique
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 29824
Summary
The Plastic Surgery Residency Program at Université Laval is a comprehensive 5-year training program focused on developing expert surgeons in reconstructive and aesthetic plastic surgery. The program aims to train residents who can provide high-quality patient care across multiple anatomical zones and subspecialties, with a strong emphasis on surgical principles and research.
Training
- Research
- Up to 3 research periods can be integrated into the curriculum, with an emphasis on scholarly activities and research participation.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple hospitals in Quebec, including CHU de Québec, CIUSSS de la Capitale-Nationale, and CHU Sainte-Justine, providing diverse clinical exposure.
- Teaching approach
- The program follows a Competence by Design (CBD) approach, focusing on developing comprehensive CanMEDS competencies and ensuring residents progressively develop professional capabilities through supervised clinical activities.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- University-affiliated hospitals
- Tertiary care centers
- Focus areas
- Reconstructive Surgery
- Aesthetic Surgery
- Pediatric Plastic Surgery
- Craniofacial Surgery
- Maxillofacial Surgery
- Burns Surgery
- Upper Limb Surgery
- Breast Surgery
- Oncological Surgery
- Patient populations
- Pediatric patients
- Trauma patients
- Burn patients
- Oncology patients
- Breast reconstruction patients
- Craniofacial patients
- Hand surgery patients
- Highlights
- Competence by Design (CBD) curriculum
- Up to 3 research periods can be integrated
- Annual surgical day
- Cadaver anatomy and dissection courses
- Inter-hospital meetings
- Morbidity/mortality conferences
- Strengths
- Comprehensive surgical training across multiple subspecialties
- Strong research integration
- Competency-based medical education
- Diverse clinical training sites
- Emphasis on interpersonal and professional skills
- Enhanced skills
- Microsurgery
- Hand Surgery
- Breast Reconstruction
- Aesthetic Surgery
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- What the program looks at
- Pre-clinical academic performance
- Clinical rotation evaluations
- Surgical rotation performance
- Interview performance
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 30 janvier 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
| PGY-6 | $89,131 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHU de Québec (CHUL)
- Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus
- Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
- Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- McGill University Affiliated Hospital
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Québec, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −11.3 °C
- July average
- 20.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 298.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 20.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 549,459 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.4% · French only 56.5% · English and French 42.7% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 8.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 78.6% · public transit 10.8% · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $70,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Québec, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.143
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $49,394 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage