Skip to content
CdnMD

Québec - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly

Université LavalQuébec, QuebecParticular stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

CaRMS program description, FM/ES 2027 match, last approved 28 Jul 2026

Positions (approx. quota)
1 position
Length
1 year
Stream
Particular
Discipline
Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
34538

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • Training takes place mainly in university hospitals in the Québec City region.
  • Residents complete a required scholarly project, starting with an academic medicine rotation, and may keep a continuity clinic one day every two weeks.

Training

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Sites

8 teaching sites

  • Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
  • Hôpital St-François d'Assise
  • Hôpital St-Sacrement
Show all 8
  • Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus
  • CHUL
  • Hôpital Jeffery Hale
  • Hôpital du Christ-Roi
  • Hotel-Dieu de Lévis
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • family_practice_continuity
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Training language
French
Highlights
  • Dedicated academic medicine rotation with the Cliniciens érudits program to launch the scholarly project early.
  • Geriatric teaching sessions each block shared with the same program's residents at other Québec universities.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Unité de courte durée gériatrique (UCDG) avec des médecins de famille (Stages obligatoires, formulation 1 an · 3 périodes)
  • Stage en clinique de la douleur (Stages obligatoires, formulation 1 an · 1 période)
  • Stage de consultation aux étages avec interniste-gériatre (Stages obligatoires, formulation 1 an · 1 période)
  • Stage de médecine universitaire (Stages obligatoires, formulation 1 an · 1 période)
  • Stages en soins ambulatoires et en soins de longue durée (Stages obligatoires, formulation 1 an · 2 périodes)
  • Unité de réadaptation fonctionnelle intensive (URFI) (Stages obligatoires, formulation 1 an · 1 période)
  • Gérontospychiatrie (Stages obligatoires, formulation 1 an · 1 période)
  • Soins palliatifs (Stages obligatoires, formulation 1 an · 1 période)
  • Clinique de la mémoire avec interniste-gériatre (Stages obligatoires, formulation 1 an · 1 période)
  • Stage de consultation à l'urgence avec interniste-gériatre (Stages obligatoires, formulation 1 an · 1 période)
  • Unité de courte durée gériatrique (UCDG) avec des médecins de famille (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)
  • Stage de médecine universitaire (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)
  • Stages en soins ambulatoires et en soins de longue durée (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)
  • Unité de réadaptation fonctionnelle intensive (URFI) OU Gérontospychiatrie (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)
  • Soins palliatifs (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)
  • Clinique de la mémoire avec interniste-gériatre (Stages obligatoires, formulation 6 mois · 1 période)

Selection

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$70,890 / year

One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028.

Teaching sites

  • Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
  • Hôpital St-François d'Assise (Québec)
  • Hôpital St-Sacrement (Québec)
  • Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
  • CHUL (Québec)
  • Hôpital Jeffery Hale (Québec)
  • Hôpital du Christ-Roi (Québec)
  • Hotel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis)

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Hôtel-Dieu de Québec

Matched to L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital St-François d'Assise

Matched to Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 254 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital St-Sacrement

Matched to Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 111 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Show facts for 4 more sites

Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus

Matched to Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 335 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHUL

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital Jeffery Hale

Matched to Hôpital Jeffery Hale (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 15 · geriatrics 16 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hotel-Dieu de Lévis

Matched to Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,011 · 2026–2027: 31,265 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 208 · psychiatry 70 · geriatrics 20 · neonatology 8 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

secteur1empd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Mireille Girard · Conseillère en gestion des études

Processus d'admission / Documents à fournir

Program director

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Québec, Quebec

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−11.3 °C Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away
July average
20.0 °C Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away
Snowfall
298.9 cm a year Lauzon, 14.2 km away
Days below −20 °C
20.6 days a year Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Québec, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
549,459 people up 3.3% from 2016
Official languages
English only 0.4% · French only 56.5% · English and French 42.7% · neither 0.4% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
8.5% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 2.3% · non-permanent residents: 2.5%
Indigenous identity
1.8% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 78.6% · public transit 10.8% · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.6% Average commute: 19.5 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$70,500 before tax $60,800 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Québec, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 733,156 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.143 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.4% October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$49,394 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Québec, Quebec, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
4.3% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.5 points. A survey estimate.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.