Québec - Family Medicine - Palliative Care
Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 3 positions
- 1 year
- Regular
- Family Medicine - Palliative Care
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34646
Summary
- This one-year palliative care enhanced-skills program trains physicians to provide primary and consultation palliative care services.
- Of 13 periods, 11 are mandatory, including 8 periods of palliative care, home palliative care, psycho-oncology and radiation/medical oncology, plus 2 elective periods.
- Training takes place at CHU de Québec sites, Maison Michel-Sarrazin and other Québec-area centres.
- Residents must complete a supervised scholarly project with a half-day per week released.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- CHU de Québec (Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus, CHUL)
- Maison Michel-Sarrazin
- Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec
Show all 7Show fewer
- Hôpital Jeffery Hale
- CLSC La Source
- CISSS de Chaudière-Appalaches (Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis)
- CIUSSS de la Côte-Nord
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Optional continuity family-medicine clinic, up to a half-day weekly, in the resident's own GMF-U.
- Six-day integrated continuing-education program in palliative care at Maison Michel-Sarrazin.
- Year ends with a formal written and oral examination.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Psycho-oncologie (Stages cliniques obligatoires · 1 période)
- Radio-oncologie / oncologie médicale (Stages cliniques obligatoires · 1 période)
- Soins palliatifs (Stages cliniques obligatoires · 8 périodes)
- Soins palliatifs à domicile (Stages cliniques obligatoires · 1 période)
- Prolongement de stages obligatoires (Stages à options)
- Soins palliatifs Hôtel-Dieu-de-Lévis (Stages à options · Hôtel-Dieu-de-Lévis)
- Soins palliatifs pédiatriques (Stages à options)
- Clinique de la douleur (Stages à options)
- Stage région (Stages à options)
- Médecine universitaire (Stages à options)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 6 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHU de Québec (Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus, CHUL) (Québec)
- Maison Michel-Sarrazin (Québec)
- Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (Québec)
- Hôpital Jeffery Hale (Québec)
- CLSC La Source
- CISSS de Chaudière-Appalaches (Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis) (Lévis)
- CIUSSS de la Côte-Nord (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHU de Québec (Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus, CHUL)
Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
- Licensed beds
- physical health 254
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
- Licensed beds
- physical health 338
Hôpital Jeffery Hale
- Licensed beds
- physical health 15 · geriatrics 16
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
CISSS de Chaudière-Appalaches (Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,011 · 2026–2027: 31,265
- Licensed beds
- physical health 208 · psychiatry 70 · geriatrics 20 · neonatology 8
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Processus d'admission / Documents à fournir
Équipe Admission
Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval
Program director
Dr(e) Virginie Audet Croteau
Directrice du programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Québec, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −11.3 °C
- July average
- 20.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 298.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 20.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 549,459 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.4% · French only 56.5% · English and French 42.7% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 8.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 78.6% · public transit 10.8% · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $70,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Québec, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.143
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $49,394 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%