Québec - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Regular
- Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34664
Summary
- Training is based at Université Laval's Clinique du PEPS for all 12 months, where residents follow their own patients, complemented by longitudinal or variable-length rotations in Université Laval hospitals.
- Residents keep one half-day per week of family medicine, train in musculoskeletal ultrasound, and must complete at least one scholarly project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Clinique du PEPS
- CHU de Québec
- CIUSSS de la Capitale-Nationale
Show all 5Show fewer
- Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (IUCPQ)
- Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- family_practice_continuity
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Residents run their own clinic schedule and follow their own patients from initial consultation to discharge.
- Reduced-rate access to three FMOQ musculoskeletal ultrasound courses, possibly reimbursed by the program.
- Team-physician component with exposure mainly to football and hockey.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 16 Oct 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Clinique du PEPS (Québec)
- CHU de Québec (Québec)
- CIUSSS de la Capitale-Nationale (Québec)
- Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (IUCPQ) (Québec)
- Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHU de Québec
Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
- Licensed beds
- physical health 254
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (IUCPQ)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
- Licensed beds
- physical health 338
Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,011 · 2026–2027: 31,265
- Licensed beds
- physical health 208 · psychiatry 70 · geriatrics 20 · neonatology 8
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Processus d'admission / Documents à fournir
Équipe Admission
Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval
Program director
Dr(e) Sandrine Bourget
Directrice du programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Québec, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −11.3 °C
- July average
- 20.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 298.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 20.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 549,459 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.4% · French only 56.5% · English and French 42.7% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 8.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 78.6% · public transit 10.8% · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $70,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Québec, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.143
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $49,394 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%