Québec - Public Health and Preventive Medicine
Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream
- 3 positions
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Regular
- Public Health and Preventive Medicine
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36121
Summary
- This is a 5-year Public Health and Preventive Medicine residency at Université Laval, trained largely at public health directorates and agencies in the Québec region.
- Residents complete clinical rotations early, then a master's in public health or epidemiology with 9 periods of coursework and 9 periods for the thesis.
- Residents take part in regular public health on-call duties at the Capitale-Nationale regional public health directorate.
Training
- Setting
- Public health agency
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux de la Capitale-Nationale (CIUSSS C-N) : Direction de santé publique
- Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec - Université Laval (CHU de Québec - Université Laval)
- Unité d'évaluation des technologies et des modes d'intervention en santé (UETMIS)
Show all 9Show fewer
- Institut national de santé publique du Québec (INSPQ)
- Centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux (CISSS) de Chaudière-Appalaches : Direction de santé publique
- Centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux du Bas-St-Laurent : Direction de santé publique
- Centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux de la Gaspésie : Direction de santé publique
- Ministère de la Santé et des Services Sociaux (MSSS) du Québec : Direction générale de la santé publique
- Autres Directions de santé publique de Centres intégrés de santé et de services sociaux (CISSS) du RUISSS de l’Université Laval (Côte-Nord, Lanaudière)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Interview followed by a 30-minute French writing exercise.
By year
- PGY-1
- stage de deux périodes d'initiation à la santé publique et médecine préventivedeux périodes
- Stage de nuit
- Médecine familiale
- Gériatrie
- Infectiologie
- Médecine interne générale et/ou sous spécialités pertinentes de la médecine interne
- Pédiatrie
- Psychiatrie
- Stage clinique en santé publique et médecine préventive
- Urgence
Other rotations
- Connaissance et surveillance de l'état de santé (R-2, R-3, R-4, R-5 · 2 périodes)
- Contrôle des maladies infectieuses (R-2, R-3, R-4, R-5 · 5 périodes)
- Gestion-Évaluation en santé publique (R-2, R-3, R-4, R-5 · 6 périodes (2 séquences de 3 périodes))
- Prévention et promotion de la santé (R-2, R-3, R-4, R-5 · 6 périodes (2 séquences de 3 périodes))
- Santé au travail (R-2, R-3, R-4, R-5 · 3 périodes)
- Santé environnementale (R-2, R-3, R-4, R-5 · 4 périodes)
- Stages à option (R-2, R-3, R-4, R-5 · 6 périodes)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not required · this stream
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 1 and 3 Feb 2027
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
| PGY-6 | $89,131 / year |
| PGY-7 | $89,131 / year |
| PGY-8 | $89,131 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux de la Capitale-Nationale (CIUSSS C-N) : Direction de santé publique (Québec)
- Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec - Université Laval (CHU de Québec - Université Laval) (Québec)
- Unité d'évaluation des technologies et des modes d'intervention en santé (UETMIS) (Québec)
- Institut national de santé publique du Québec (INSPQ)
- Centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux (CISSS) de Chaudière-Appalaches : Direction de santé publique (rural or distributed site)
- Centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux du Bas-St-Laurent : Direction de santé publique (rural or distributed site)
- Centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux de la Gaspésie : Direction de santé publique (rural or distributed site)
- Ministère de la Santé et des Services Sociaux (MSSS) du Québec : Direction générale de la santé publique
- Autres Directions de santé publique de Centres intégrés de santé et de services sociaux (CISSS) du RUISSS de l’Université Laval (Côte-Nord, Lanaudière) (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec - Université Laval (CHU de Québec - Université Laval)
Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
- Licensed beds
- physical health 111
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
- Licensed beds
- physical health 254
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
“Processus d'admission / Documents à fournir” · the program’s heading on CaRMS
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
admission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca
Équipe Admission · Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval
Catherine Fréchette-Grégoire
Agente de gestion des études
Program directors
Dr(e) Nicholas Brousseau
Co-directeur du programme
Dr(e) André Dontigny
Co-directeur du programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Québec, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −11.3 °C
- July average
- 20.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 298.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 20.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 549,459 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.4% · French only 56.5% · English and French 42.7% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 8.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 78.6% · public transit 10.8% · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $70,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Québec, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.143
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $49,394 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage