Québec - Vascular Surgery
Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- Regular
- Vascular Surgery
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35545
Summary
- This is a 5-year vascular surgery residency at Université Laval, based mainly at Hôpital St-François d'Assise in Québec.
- Training takes place within the Centre des Maladies Vasculaires de Québec alongside vascular internists and angioradiologists.
- Residents complete the Surgical Foundations program in parallel during their first two years.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Hôpital St-François d'Assise
- Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
- Hôpital de l'Enfant Jésus
Show all 4Show fewer
- Institut universitaire de cardiologie et pneumologie de Québec
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Training within an integrated vascular centre with 13 vascular internists and 6 angioradiologists.
By year
- PGY-1
- Chirurgie vasculaire3 périodes
- Cardiologie1 période
- Trauma/Soins aigus1 période
- Angioradiologie1 période
- Urgence1 période
- Infectiologie1 période
- Introduction à la chirurgie1 période
- Stage de nuit1 période
- Anesthésie-Réanimation1 période
- Soins intensifs1 période
- Laboratoire / Clinique vasculaire1 période
- PGY-2
- Chirurgie vasculaire4 périodes
- Chirurgie générale2 périodes
- Soins Intensifs2 périodes
- Médecine vasculaire2 périodes
- Laboratoire / Clinique vasculaire1 période
- Angioradiologie1 période
- Imagerie non-invasive1 période
- PGY-3
- Chirurgie vasculaire7 périodes
- Stage vasculaire communautaire2 périodes
- Option1 période
- Laboratoire / Clinique vasculaire1 période
- Angioradiologie2périodes
- PGY-4
- Chirurgie vasculaire7 périodes
- Chirurgie cardiaque2 périodes
- Angioradiologie2 périodes
- Option1 période
- Laboratoire / Clinique vasculaire1 période
Other rotations
- Chirurgie vasculaire (Cinquième et dernière année · 1 périodes)
- Angioradiologie (Cinquième et dernière année · 1 période)
- Laboratoire / Clinique vasculaire (Cinquième et dernière année · 1 période)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Tue 3 Nov 20267:00–8:00 pm ET
Info session · Virtual
Link for Université Laval, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Hôpital St-François d'Assise (Québec)
- Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
- Hôpital de l'Enfant Jésus (Québec)
- Institut universitaire de cardiologie et pneumologie de Québec (Québec)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hôpital St-François d'Assise
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
- Licensed beds
- physical health 254
Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
- Licensed beds
- physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63
Hôpital de l'Enfant Jésus
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Institut universitaire de cardiologie et pneumologie de Québec
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
- Licensed beds
- physical health 338
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Processus d'admission / Documents à fournir
admission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca
Équipe Admission · Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval
Processus d'admission / Documents à fournir
Valéry Gosselin
Agente de gestion des études
Program director
Dr(e) Pascal Rhéaume
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Québec, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −11.3 °C
- July average
- 20.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 298.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 20.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 549,459 people
- Official languages
- English only 0.4% · French only 56.5% · English and French 42.7% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 8.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 78.6% · public transit 10.8% · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.6%
- Median household income
- $70,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Québec, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.143
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $49,394 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage