Quw'utsun - Family Medicine
University of British ColumbiaQuw'utsun, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35882
Summary
- This is a 2-year UBC family medicine residency site based in Duncan on the traditional territory of Quw'utsun Hwulmuhw (Cowichan Tribes), with a focus on the local Indigenous population.
- Training uses a hybrid longitudinal and block model, with a longitudinal Indigenous rotation and rotations mainly at Quw'utsun Valley Hospital.
- Residents do a minimum 8-week rural rotation in R2, complete a QI project and a scholar project, and have 18 weeks of electives.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Quw'utsun Valley Hospital (QVH)
- Cowichan Hospice House
- Chemainus Health Care Centre
Show all 7Show fewer
- Ladysmith Urgent Care
- Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Victoria General Hospital (VGH)
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Indigenous health
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Rural / remote
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Care of the Elderly
- Anesthesia
- Palliative Care
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Clinician Scholar / Research
- Other
- Highlights
- Site-specific rank adjustment prioritizing Indigenous applicants from local Nations, reviewed by local Knowledge Keepers.
- Longitudinal Indigenous rotation across both years engaging with local Indigenous communities.
- Cultural safety training for preceptors and residents, delivered partly through local Indigenous Elders.
By year
- PGY-1
- Family Practice10 weeks
- Academic Weeks7 weeks
- Electives6 weeks
- Internal Med4 weeks
- Emergency Med4 weeks
- Obstetrics4 weeks
- Pediatrics3 weeks
- Hospitalist2 weeks
- Urgent Care2 weeks
- General Surgery2 weeks
- Addictions & Outreach2 weeks
- Orthopedic Surgery2 weeks
- Anesthesia1 week
- IndigenousLongitudinal
- PGY-2
- Electives12 weeks
- Family Practice11 weeks
- Rural9 weeks
- Academic Weeks7 weeks
- Palliative Medicine4 weeks
- Hospitalist2 weeks
- Internal Med2 weeks
- Surgical Selective2 weeks
- Gynecology2 weeks
- Addictions1 week
- IndigenousLongitudinal
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 16, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23, 25 and 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Quw'utsun Valley Hospital (QVH) (Duncan)
- Cowichan Hospice House (Duncan)
- Chemainus Health Care Centre (Chemainus · rural or distributed site)
- Ladysmith Urgent Care (Ladysmith · rural or distributed site)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey)
- Victoria General Hospital (VGH) (Victoria)
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital (Nanaimo)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Victoria General Hospital (VGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 9,004
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,040
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Shared by Jialin (Lydia) Chen · Program and Learning Development Manager and Alexandria Miller · Education Coordinator
Program directors
Dr. Sarah McCorquodale
Dr. Flora Wong
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Cara-Lee Malange
Site Coordinator
Dr. Kirsten Yip
Co-Site Director
Dr. Lindsey Forest
Co-Site Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Quw'utsun, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 4.6 °C
- July average
- 17.2 °C
- Snowfall
- 38.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 5,047 people
- Official languages
- English only 93.5% · French only not reported · English and French 6.2% · neither 0.2%
- Immigrants
- 11.1% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 16.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 84.2% · public transit 1.6% · walking or cycling 12.7% · other 1.3%
- Median household income
- $53,200 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Duncan, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.160
- BC rural designation
- RSA community designation C · 6.00 total points Official page(opens in a new tab)
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,086 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage