Regina - Anesthesiology
University of SaskatchewanRegina, SaskatchewanCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36181
Summary
- This is a five-year University of Saskatchewan anesthesiology residency based in Regina at Regina General Hospital and Pasqua Hospital.
- Boot Camp and high-complexity pediatric rotations take place in Saskatoon, and residents complete rural anesthesia exposure outside Saskatoon and Regina.
- Research is mandatory with protected time, and the program includes a point-of-care ultrasound curriculum.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Regina General Hospital
- Pasqua Hospital
- Regina Surgical Center
Show all 10Show fewer
- Children's Dental World
- Royal University Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
- Prairieview Surgical Center
- Victoria Union Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Monthly confidential 'Bear Pit' sessions between residents and the program director.
- No local anesthesia fellows, leaving more hands-on opportunities for residents.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Boot Camp (Transition to Discipline · month-long · Saskatoon)
- general anesthesia (Transition to Discipline · a minimum of one block)
- High-complexity pediatric rotations (Saskatoon at the Jim Pattison Children’s Hospital)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 24 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- Regina General Hospital (Regina)
- Pasqua Hospital (Regina)
- Regina Surgical Center (Regina)
- Children's Dental World (Regina)
- Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon City Hospital (Saskatoon)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Prairieview Surgical Center (Saskatoon)
- Victoria Union Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Chelsea Malkowich
Program Administrator
Program director
Dr. Eugene Choo
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Regina, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −14.7 °C
- July average
- 18.6 °C
- Snowfall
- 104.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 44.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 226,404 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.6% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.1% · neither 1.3%
- Immigrants
- 20.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 10.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 90.2% · public transit 3.6% · walking or cycling 4.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $88,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Regina, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.228
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,765 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage