Regina - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
University of SaskatchewanRegina, SaskatchewanCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 5 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 34587
Summary
- This one-year family medicine–emergency medicine program is based at Regina General Hospital, a tertiary hospital, with rotations also at Pasqua Hospital.
- Residents complete a 4-week pediatric emergency medicine block in Saskatoon and a community emergency medicine rotation at locations such as Moose Jaw and Swift Current.
- A scholarly project is required, and completion with successful national examinations leads to the Certificate of Added Competency in Emergency Medicine.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Regina General Hospital
- Pasqua Hospital
- Royal University Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Transition to Practice month including an EMS ground shift and two STARS air ambulance shifts.
- Full Disaster Day with a large multidisciplinary code orange mass-casualty simulation.
- In-situ simulations run in the Emergency Department with real staff, equipment and resources.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (18 weeks · Regina General Hospital and Pasqua Hospital)
- Community Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Various locations available such as Moose Jaw and Swift Current)
- Transition to Practice (Emergency Medicine) (4 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (4 weeks · Royal University Hospital)
- Adult Intensive Care (6 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
- Coronary Care Unit (2 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
- Orthopedic Surgery (4 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
- Plastic Surgery (2 weeks Longitudinal · Regina General Hospital or Pasqua Hospital)
- Anesthesia (2 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
- Trauma (4 weeks · Regina General Hospital)
- Elective (2 weeks)
- Toxicology (Longitudinal)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 6 and 7 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- Regina General Hospital (Regina)
- Pasqua Hospital (Regina)
- Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (Saskatoon)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Georgie Blackwell
Enhanced Skills Coordinator
Program director
Dr. Desiree Rouleau
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Jessica Cowan
FM-EM Regina Site Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- USask Family Medicine(opens in a new tab)
- City of Regina(opens in a new tab)
- Tourism Regina(opens in a new tab)
- Regina Regional Economic Development Authority(opens in a new tab)
- Regina Region Association of Realtors.(opens in a new tab)
- Tourism Saskatchewan(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Regina, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −14.7 °C
- July average
- 18.6 °C
- Snowfall
- 104.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 44.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 226,404 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.6% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.1% · neither 1.3%
- Immigrants
- 20.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 10.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 90.2% · public transit 3.6% · walking or cycling 4.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $88,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Regina, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.228
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,765 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.4%