Regina - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
University of SaskatchewanRegina, SaskatchewanCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35259
Summary
- This is a 5-year University of Saskatchewan Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation program distributed between Saskatoon and Regina.
- The Regina position is based primarily at Wascana Rehabilitation Centre, with residents also rotating through the Saskatoon site.
- Residents complete a required scholarly project with three dedicated research blocks, and one pediatric rehabilitation block takes place out of province.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Wascana Rehabilitation Centre
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- Saskatoon Neuromuscular Associates
Show all 8Show fewer
- Royal University Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Regina General
- Pasqua
- Kinsmen Children's Centre
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Anatomy lab sessions with an anatomist and physiatrist, paired with same-day hands-on ultrasound scanning of the same region.
- Mandatory out-of-province pediatric rehabilitation block in Edmonton or Calgary through an affiliation agreement.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- research (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 2 weeks)
- internal medicine and subspecialties (Foundations)
- geriatrics (Foundations)
- orthopedics (Foundations)
- neurology (Foundations)
- neurosurgery (Foundations)
- rheumatology (Foundations)
- selectives (Foundations)
- stroke (Core · 4)
- brain injury (Core · 4)
- spinal cord injury (Core · 4)
- prosthetics and orthotics (Core · 4)
- neuromuscular (Core · 4)
- musculoskeletal (Core · 4)
- elective (Core · 4)
- Pediatric rehabilitation (Core · 4 blocks)
- Senior Rotations (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 6)
- elective time (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 6 blocks)
- Research (Three dedicated blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 4 and 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- Wascana Rehabilitation Centre (Regina)
- Saskatoon City Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon Neuromuscular Associates (Saskatoon)
- Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Regina General (Regina)
- Pasqua (Regina)
- Kinsmen Children's Centre (Saskatoon)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Shane Wunder
Program Co-Director
Faculty profile of Dr. Shane Wunder(opens in a new tab)
Medical Education; Technology in Medicine; Spinal Cord Injury; Spasticity; Prosthetics, Orthotics, Gait
Dr. Brendan Kushneriuk
Program Co-Director
Faculty profile of Dr. Brendan Kushneriuk(opens in a new tab)
Spasticity Management; Musculoskeletal Medicine; Spinal Cord Injury; Motor Neuron Disease
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Regina, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −14.7 °C
- July average
- 18.6 °C
- Snowfall
- 104.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 44.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 226,404 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.6% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.1% · neither 1.3%
- Immigrants
- 20.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 10.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 90.2% · public transit 3.6% · walking or cycling 4.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $88,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Regina, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.228
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,765 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage