Rural Brandon - Psychiatry
University of ManitobaRural Brandon, ManitobaCMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Psychiatry
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 30196
Summary
The University of Manitoba Psychiatry training program offers a supportive and welcoming learning environment. Residents are active members of the department, receiving expert training in biological and psychological treatments, with a strong emphasis on psychotherapy modalities.
Training
- Research
- Residents are required to complete at least one publishable research paper by PGY-3, with up to one year of research time available during PGY-5. A dedicated Research Track is also available.
- Training setting
- Training occurs in Brandon and Winnipeg, with multiple clinical sites including Brandon Regional Health Center, PsycHealth Centre, and community clinics across Manitoba.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education focusing on developing residents as medical experts, communicators, collaborators, leaders, health advocates, scholars, and professionals.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Community hospital
- Rural clinic
- Tertiary care center
- Focus areas
- Biological psychiatry
- Psychological treatments
- Psychotherapy
- Rural medicine
- Community psychiatry
- Care of vulnerable populations
- Patient populations
- Adult psychiatric patients
- Geriatric psychiatric patients
- Child and adolescent psychiatric patients
- Rural and remote communities
- Vulnerable populations
- Aboriginal and Inuit communities
- Highlights
- Protected academic half-day from PGY-1 to PGY-5
- Early psychotherapy training
- Research track for clinician scientists
- Telepsychiatry experiences
- Community psychiatry placements
- Rural and remote clinical work opportunities
- Strengths
- Comprehensive 5-year training program
- Balanced biological and psychological approach
- Strong psychotherapy training
- Exposure to rural and remote medicine
- Supportive and welcoming learning environment
- Enhanced skills
- Psychotherapy training
- Research track
- Community psychiatry
- Rural medicine
By year
- PGY-1
- Inpatient Psychiatric ICUBlocks not specified
- Emergency Room PsychiatryBlocks not specified
- Consultation-Liaison PsychiatryBlocks not specified
- Family MedicineBlocks not specified
- Emergency MedicineBlocks not specified
- NeurologyBlocks not specified
- Internal MedicineBlocks not specified
- PGY-2
- Adult Inpatient Psychiatry6 months
- Adult Outpatient Psychiatry6 months
- PGY-3
- Geriatric Psychiatry6 months
- Child and Adolescent Psychiatry6 months
- PGY-4
- Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry6 months
- Chronic Care6 months
- PGY-5
- Elective Rotations12 months
Selection
- What the program looks at
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- CV/Resume
- References
- Interview performance
- Clinical experiences
- Communication skills
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 21, 22, 23, 26, 27 and 28 Jan 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
| PGY-4 | $89,329 / year |
| PGY-5 | $95,285 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- Brandon Regional Health Center
- PsycHealth Centre
- St. Boniface General Hospital
- Victoria General Hospital
- Manitoba Adolescent Treatment Centre
- Selkirk Mental Health Centre
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 3 positions open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
More links
Location
Rural Brandon, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −16.7 °C
- July average
- 18.4 °C
- Snowfall
- 128.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 53.3 days a year
People
- Population
- 51,313 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.9% · French only 0.0% · English and French 4.8% · neither 2.2%
- Immigrants
- 18.1% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 14.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 89.9% · public transit 3.5% · walking or cycling 5.6% · other 1.1%
- Median household income
- $76,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Brandon, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.329
Housing, cost and work
- Basic cost of living
- $53,331 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Undetermined
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage