Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Brandon - Psychiatry

University of ManitobaRural Brandon, ManitobaIMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved 10 Sep 2025

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
2 positions
Length
5 years
Stream
IMG
Discipline
Psychiatry
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
29565

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

The University of Manitoba Psychiatry training program offers a supportive and welcoming learning environment. Residents receive expert training in biological and psychological treatments, with a strong focus on psychotherapy modalities and a commitment to developing well-rounded psychiatrists.

Training

Research
Residents are required to complete at least one publishable research paper by PGY-3, with up to one year of research possible during PGY-5 electives. A dedicated Research Track is available for developing clinician scientists.
Training setting
Training occurs in urban and rural settings across Manitoba, including Brandon Regional Health Center, PsycHealth Centre in Winnipeg, and community clinics in rural and northern Manitoba.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, focusing on developing residents as medical experts, communicators, collaborators, leaders, health advocates, scholars, and professionals.
Setting types
  • Academic Medical Center
  • Community Hospital
  • Rural Clinic
  • Tertiary Care Center
Focus areas
  • Biological Psychiatry
  • Psychological Treatments
  • Psychotherapy
  • Rural Psychiatry
  • Community Mental Health
  • Care of Vulnerable Populations
Patient populations
  • Adult Psychiatric Patients
  • Geriatric Psychiatric Patients
  • Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Patients
  • Rural and Remote Communities
  • Aboriginal and Inuit Communities
  • Vulnerable Populations
Highlights
  • Research Track for Clinician Scientists
  • Early Psychotherapy Training
  • Telepsychiatry Experiences
  • Community Psychiatry Placements
  • Rural and Remote Clinical Work Opportunities
  • Exposure to Aboriginal and Inuit Communities
Strengths
  • Comprehensive 5-year training program
  • Strong psychotherapy training
  • Exposure to diverse clinical settings
  • Emphasis on community and rural psychiatry
  • Research opportunities
  • Supportive learning environment
Enhanced skills
  • Psychotherapy Training
  • Community Psychiatry
  • Rural Medicine
  • Research Skills

By year

PGY-1
  • Inpatient Psychiatric ICUBrandonBlocks not specified
  • Emergency Room PsychiatryBrandonBlocks not specified
  • Consultation-Liaison PsychiatryBrandonBlocks not specified
  • Family MedicineBrandonBlocks not specified
  • Emergency MedicineBrandonBlocks not specified
  • NeurologyBrandonBlocks not specified
  • Internal MedicineBrandonBlocks not specified
PGY-2
  • Adult Inpatient PsychiatryBrandon6 months
  • Adult Outpatient PsychiatryBrandon6 months
PGY-3
  • Geriatric PsychiatryBrandon/Winnipeg/Selkirk6 months
  • Child and Adolescent PsychiatryBrandon6 months
PGY-4
  • Consultation-Liaison PsychiatryBrandon/Winnipeg6 months
  • Chronic CareBrandon6 months
PGY-5
  • Elective RotationsBrandon/Winnipeg/Other Sites12 months

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

What the program looks at
  • MCCQE Part I
  • NAC Examination
  • Medical School Transcript
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal Letter
  • CV/Résumé
  • Psychiatry Structured Reference Letters
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
21, 22, 23, 26, 27 and 28 Jan 2026

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year
PGY-4
$89,329 / year
PGY-5
$95,285 / year

One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027.

Teaching sites

  • Brandon Regional Health Center
  • PsycHealth Centre
  • St. Boniface General Hospital
  • Victoria General Hospital
  • Manitoba Adolescent Treatment Centre
  • Selkirk Mental Health Centre

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Rural Brandon.

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.

The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).

Location

Rural Brandon, Manitoba

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−16.7 °C Brandon, 7.4 km away
July average
18.4 °C Brandon, 7.4 km away
Snowfall
128.2 cm a year Brandon, 7.4 km away
Days below −20 °C
53.3 days a year Brandon, 7.4 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Brandon, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
51,313 people up 5.0% from 2016
Official languages
English only 92.9% · French only 0.0% · English and French 4.8% · neither 2.2% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
18.1% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 5.5% · non-permanent residents: 2.3%
Indigenous identity
14.2% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 89.9% · public transit 3.5% · walking or cycling 5.6% · other 1.1% Average commute: 14.6 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$76,000 before tax $66,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Brandon, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people) 50,532 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.329 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Basic cost of living
$53,331 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Brandon, Manitoba, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Undetermined An employment outlook has not been assigned to this occupation in this region due to low levels of employment.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.