Rural Fergus - Family Medicine
McMaster UniversityRural Fergus, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35915
Summary
- This two-year McMaster family medicine program is based in Fergus, a rural Ontario community, and prepares residents for rural family practice.
- Core family medicine takes place in Fergus or Elora, off-service rotations in Fergus, Guelph, Kitchener-Waterloo or Cambridge, and academic sessions at the Guelph Family Health Team.
- Second year includes 2 blocks of rural family medicine and 3 elective blocks.
Training
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Regional community
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- Groves Memorial Community Hospital (GMCH)
- Guelph Family Health Team
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Highlights
- Training in culturally sensitive care for the area's significant Mennonite population.
- Internal medicine and emergency rotations can be blended between rural Fergus and nearby urban hubs.
- Family practice obstetrics group with weekly rounds and a 55-bed hospital handling 600 births yearly.
By year
- PGY-1
- Family Medicine4 blocks
- Care of the Hospitalized Adult2 blocks
- Emergency Medicine2 blocks
- Women's Health and Obstetrics2 blocks
- Care of Children2 blocks
- Family Medicine/Academic Programming (Block 7)1 block
- Continuity Family Medicine homebase clinics
- PGY-2
- Family Medicine4 blocks
- Elective3 blocks
- Rural Family Medicine2 blocks
- Core Medicine/Surgery Selective (site-based options)2 blocks
- Care of the Elderly1 block
- Family Medicine/Academic Programming (Block 7)1 block
- Continuity Family Medicine homebase clinics
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 16, 18, 20 and 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Groves Memorial Community Hospital (GMCH) (Fergus)
- Guelph Family Health Team (Guelph)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program director
Dr. Heather Waters
Postgraduate Program Director
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Nagham El-houssein
Rural Site Director
Dr. Nina Ramic
Fergus Site Education Lead
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Rural Fergus, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −6.9 °C
- July average
- 19.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 8.3 days a year
People
- Population
- 31,093 people
- Official languages
- English only 93.4% · French only not reported · English and French 6.3% · neither 0.3%
- Immigrants
- 11.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 93.9% · public transit 0.3% · walking or cycling 4.3% · other 1.5%
- Median household income
- $101,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Fergus, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.093
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $51,047 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage