Rural Hanover - Family Medicine
Western UniversityRural Hanover, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 2 years
- IMG
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36056
Summary
- This is a 2-year rural family medicine residency program centred on Hanover.
- The first year builds foundations in medicine and surgery, while in the second year residents live in Hanover and work mostly in a rural family practice.
- The second-year experience includes emergency, intrapartum obstetrics and inpatient care, as well as elective blocks.
- The program has a return-of-service obligation.
Training
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Sites
1 teaching site
- Hanover Medical Clinic
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Highlights
- Residents must live in Hanover for PGY2 and work mostly in a rural family practice there.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 15 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hanover Medical Clinic (Hanover)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2022 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2023 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Daniel Grushka
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- Top Family Med Sites in Ontario (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Former regional FM resident on hospitalist/ER focus and shifts
Location
Rural Hanover, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.1 °C
- July average
- 19.4 °C
- Snowfall
- 385.1 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 8.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 7,967 people
- Official languages
- English only 95.6% · French only not reported · English and French 4.2% · neither 0.3%
- Immigrants
- 6.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 87.6% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 11.2% · other 1.4%
- Median household income
- $69,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hanover, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.135
- Rurality Index for Ontario
- RIO2008 score 45 Official page(opens in a new tab)
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Basic cost of living
- $52,873 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage