Rural Listowel - Family Medicine
Western UniversityRural Listowel, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35435
Summary
- This two-year family medicine program trains residents in a rural setting based in Listowel.
- The first year combines a 16-week family medicine block with off-service rotations supported by nearby sites including Stratford and Wingham.
- The second year is longitudinal, spent mostly in Listowel, with up to 12 weeks of elective time, and residents must live in Listowel in PGY2.
Training
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- Listowel
- Stratford
- Wingham
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Highlights
- Residents must live in the rural community of Listowel in PGY2, with the site guaranteeing suitable housing.
- Broad rural scope including anaesthesia, surgical assist, obstetrics and house calls with the family medicine preceptor.
By year
- PGY-1
- family medicine16 week
- PGY-2
- elective timeup to 12 weeks
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20, 23 and 24 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Listowel (Listowel)
- Stratford (Stratford · rural or distributed site)
- Wingham (Wingham · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Daniel Grushka
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- Top Family Med Sites in Ontario (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Former regional FM resident on hospitalist/ER focus and shifts
Location
Rural Listowel, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.1 °C
- July average
- 19.4 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 8.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 15,538 people
- Official languages
- English only 96.5% · French only 0.0% · English and French 2.0% · neither 1.4%
- Immigrants
- 10.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.7% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 90.0% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Listowel, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.118
- Rurality Index for Ontario
- RIO2008 score 42 Official page(opens in a new tab)
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Basic cost of living
- $52,873 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage