Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Neepawa - Family Medicine

University of ManitobaRural Neepawa, ManitobaCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2026 match, last approved 10 Nov 2025

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version

Positions (approx. quota)
2 positions
Length
2 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
30232

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

The University of Manitoba's Family Medicine Rural Neepawa program offers a comprehensive two-year residency training experience focused on producing well-rounded family physicians who can practice confidently in diverse settings. Residents will receive extensive clinical exposure through longitudinal experiences and specialty rotations, with a strong emphasis on rural medical practice and community engagement.

Training

Research
Residents are supported in developing research skills through workshops and scholarly activities curriculum.
Training setting
Rural community of Neepawa (population 5,500), with clinical training at Beautiful Plains Community Medical Clinic and rotations in nearby urban centers like Brandon and Winnipeg.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing continuity of care, hands-on clinical experiences, and tailored learning objectives.
Setting types
  • Rural community clinic
  • Academic medical center
  • Community hospital
Focus areas
  • Rural Family Medicine
  • Comprehensive Primary Care
  • Community-Based Medical Practice
Patient populations
  • Rural community patients
  • Diverse immigrant populations
  • Comprehensive age ranges
Highlights
  • Integrative Medicine in Residency (IMR) Program
  • Indigenous Cultural Safety Training
  • Mandatory Advanced Courses (ACLS, ALARM, ATLS, NRP)
  • Ultrasound Curriculum
  • Scholarly Activities Curriculum
Strengths
  • High-quality rural medical training
  • Supportive and collegial learning environment
  • Extensive clinical exposure
  • Commitment to equity and inclusion
Enhanced skills
  • Addictions
  • FM Anesthesia
  • Cancer Care
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Palliative Care
  • Sports & Exercise Medicine

By year

PGY-1
  • ElectivesVarious12 weeks
  • Internal MedicineWinnipeg8 weeks
  • Obstetrics/GynecologyBrandon8 weeks
  • VacationN/A8 weeks
  • General SurgeryBrandon4 weeks
  • Emergency MedicineBrandon/Winnipeg4 weeks
  • Pediatric EmergencyWinnipeg4 weeks
  • Intensive Care UnitBrandon4 weeks
  • PediatricsWinnipeg4 weeks
  • Palliative CareWinnipeg4 weeks
  • Orthopedic SurgeryBrandon2 weeks
  • PsychiatryWinnipeg2 weeks
  • Family Medicine Block TimeNeepawaLongitudinal

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

What the program looks at
  • FMProC score
  • Personal letter
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%

Interviews

Dates (2026 match)
20, 21 and 22 Jan 2026

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year

One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027.

Teaching sites

  • Beautiful Plains Community Medical Clinic
  • Brandon Regional Health Centre
  • Winnipeg Health Sciences Centre

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Rural Neepawa.

Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
202300
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20251 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20262 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.

The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).

Location

Rural Neepawa, Manitoba

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−16.7 °C Brandon, 49.7 km away
July average
18.4 °C Brandon, 49.7 km away
Snowfall
128.2 cm a year Brandon, 49.7 km away
Days below −20 °C
53.3 days a year Brandon, 49.7 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Neepawa, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
5,685 people up 23.3% from 2016
Official languages
English only 98.5% · French only not reported · English and French 1.2% · neither 0.4% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
40.1% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 23.6% · non-permanent residents: 9.9%
Indigenous identity
4.6% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 90.6% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 6.8% · other 2.4% Average commute: 9.8 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$84,000 before tax $72,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Neepawa, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people) 4,938 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.301 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Student loan forgiveness
Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Basic cost of living
$53,873 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Manitoba, population under 30,000, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Very good The employment outlook will be Very good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the Southwest region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Employment and Social Development Canada, Canada Student Loan Forgiveness (Canada.ca), page dated 2026-06-03.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.