Rural Pembroke - Family Medicine
University of OttawaRural Pembroke, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36198
Summary
- This two-year family medicine program is based at the teaching clinic of Pembroke Regional Hospital, about 90 minutes west of Ottawa.
- Training uses a half-horizontal curriculum, and the only required travel is a 2-week CHEO emergency block in Ottawa.
- Residents can opt for a longitudinal remote option with 2 blocks per year in Barry’s Bay or Deep River.
Training
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Pembroke Regional Hospital
- CHEO
- Pikwakanagan First Nations Health Clinic
Show all 5Show fewer
- Barry’s Bay
- Deep River
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Procedural emphasis
- Small program
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Highlights
- Residents are the only trainees in the setting, which gives them hands-on office and hospital procedures.
- Optional longitudinal remote track with 2 blocks per year in Barry’s Bay or Deep River.
- Program reports 95% of graduates since 2009 practise rurally.
By year
- PGY-1
- family medicine, geriatrics, emergency medicine and a couple of days at the Pikwakanagan First Nations Health Clinic6 blocks
- Family Medicine, Geriatrics, Emergency Medicine4 blocks
- psychiatry and family medicine2 blocks
- Remote Area2 blocks
- Psychiatry and Family Medicine2 blocks
- Hospitalist medicine1 block
- OB1 block
- Internal Medicine1 block
- Elective1 block
- Hospitalist medicine1 block
- OB1 block
- Internal Medicine1 block
- Elective1 block
- Pediatrics at CHEO ER2 weeks
- family medicine2 weeks
- Pediatrics at CHEO ER2 weeks
- family medicine2 weeks
- PGY-2
- Family Medicine, Geriatrics and Emergency Medicine6 blocks
- Family Medicine, Geriatrics, Emergency Medicine and a couple of days at the Pikwakanagan First Nations Health Clinic4 blocks
- Elective2 blocks
- Rremote Aarea2 blocks
- Elective2 blocks
- Hospitalist medicine1 block
- Family Medicine Rural1 block
- OB1 block
- Surgical (General Surgery and Minor surgery)1 block
- Selective1 block
- Hospitalist Medicine1 block
- Family Medicine Rural1 block
- OB1 block
- Surgical (General Surgery and Minor Surgery)1 block
- Selective1 block
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Pembroke Regional Hospital (Pembroke)
- CHEO (Ottawa)
- Pikwakanagan First Nations Health Clinic
- Barry’s Bay (Barry’s Bay · rural or distributed site)
- Deep River (Deep River · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Christine Caron-Goulet
Unit Coordinator
Program director
Dr. Sohil Rangwala
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Richard Johnson
Site Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Rural Pembroke, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −11.9 °C
- July average
- 19.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 199.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 30.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 14,364 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.3% · English and French 13.8% · neither 0.2%
- Immigrants
- 4.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 12.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 86.1% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 11.5% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $63,200 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Pembroke, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.245
- Rurality Index for Ontario
- RIO2008 score 51 Official page(opens in a new tab)
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $52,873 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage