Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Pembroke - Family Medicine

University of OttawaRural Pembroke, OntarioIMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 9 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
Not yet posted on CaRMS
Length
2 years
Stream
IMG
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Applicants offered interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
36162

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This two-year family medicine program is based at a teaching clinic at Pembroke Regional Hospital, about 90 minutes from Ottawa.
  • It uses a half-horizontal curriculum, and the only rotation that requires travel is pediatrics at CHEO in Ottawa.
  • Residents can choose a remote option that places them for 2 blocks per year in Barry's Bay or Deep River.
  • Graduates of this stream must complete a return-of-service commitment in Ontario.

Training

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Sites

5 teaching sites

  • Pembroke Regional Hospital
  • CHEO
  • Pikwakanagan First Nations Health Clinic
Show all 5
  • Barry's Bay
  • Deep River

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Procedural emphasis
  • Small program
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
Highlights
  • Optional longitudinal remote track with 2 blocks per year in Barry's Bay or Deep River.
  • Regular time at the Pikwakanagan First Nations Health Clinic within the family medicine blocks.
  • Nearly all training happens in Pembroke; only pediatrics at CHEO requires travel.

By year

PGY-1
  • mix of family medicine, geriatrics, emergency medicine and a couple of days at the Pikwakanagan First Nations Health Clinic6 blocks
  • mix of family medicine, geriatrics, emergency medicine and a couple of days at the Pikwakanagan First Nations Health Clinic4 blocks
  • mix of psychiatry and family medicine2 blocks
  • remote area2 blocks
  • mix of Psychiatry and Family Medicine2 blocks
  • Hospitalist medicine1 block
  • OB1 block
  • Internal Medicine1 block
  • Elective1 block
  • Hospitalist medicine1 block
  • OB1 block
  • Internal Medicine1 block
  • Elective1 block
PGY-2
  • mix of family medicine, geriatrics, emergency medicine and a couple of days at the Pikwakanagan First Nations Health Clinic6 blocks
  • mix of family medicine, emergency medicine and a couple of days at the Pikwakanagan First Nations Health Clinic4 blocks
  • Elective2 blocks
  • remote area2 blocks
  • Elective2 blocks
  • Hospitalist medicine1 block
  • Family Medicine Rural1 block
  • OB1 block
  • Surgical (general surgery and minor surgery)1 block
  • Selective1 block
  • Hospitalist medicine1 block
  • Family Medicine Rural1 block
  • OB1 block
  • Surgical (general surgery and minor surgery)1 block
  • Selective1 block

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · this stream
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
Applications per year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Applicants offered interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
15 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Pembroke Regional Hospital (Pembroke)
  • CHEO (Ottawa)
  • Pikwakanagan First Nations Health Clinic (rural or distributed site)
  • Barry's Bay (Barry's Bay · rural or distributed site)
  • Deep River (Deep River · rural or distributed site)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

krozon@uottawa.ca

Kim Rozon · Postgraduate Program Manager

Program director

  • Dr. Sohil Rangwala

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Rural Pembroke, Ontario

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−11.9 °C Petawawa, 12.8 km away
July average
19.3 °C Petawawa, 12.8 km away
Snowfall
199.0 cm a year Petawawa, 12.8 km away
Days below −20 °C
30.9 days a year Charteris, 54.9 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Pembroke, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
14,364 people up 3.5% from 2016
Official languages
English only 85.8% · French only 0.3% · English and French 13.8% · neither 0.2% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
4.5% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 0.4% · non-permanent residents: 0.4%
Indigenous identity
12.8% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 86.1% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 11.5% · other 2.6% Average commute: 17.0 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$63,200 before tax $57,200 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Pembroke, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people) 16,571 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.245 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Rurality Index for Ontario
RIO2008 score 51 Official page(opens in a new tab)Ontario Ministry of Health, RIO2008 scores; page updated 2025-01-10; checked 9 Oct 2026
Student loan forgiveness
Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.7% October 2025 survey, Pembroke, Ontario (census agglomeration). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$52,873 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Ontario, population under 30,000, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the Kingston - Pembroke region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0132-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Employment and Social Development Canada, Canada Student Loan Forgiveness (Canada.ca), page dated 2026-06-03.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Ontario Ministry of Health, Rurality Index for Ontario (RIO2008) score, page updated 2025-01-10.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.