Rural Portage la Prairie - Family Medicine
University of ManitobaRural Portage la Prairie, ManitobaCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35690
Summary
- This two-year family medicine residency is based in the rural community of Portage la Prairie, with Portage Clinic as the home unit.
- Residents care for admitted patients at Portage District General Hospital and complete internal medicine and obstetrics blocks at St. Boniface Hospital.
- A driver's licence and access to a reliable vehicle are mandatory.
Training
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Portage Clinic
- Portage District General Hospital
- Dakota Wicozani Health Centre
Show all 6Show fewer
- Children’s Hospital of Winnipeg
- Notre Dame hospital & clinic
- St. Boniface Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Indigenous health
- POCUS curriculum
- Procedural emphasis
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Offered
- Enhanced skills
- Addiction Medicine
- Anesthesia
- Other
- Care of the Elderly
- Emergency Medicine
- Obstetrical Surgical Skills
- Palliative Care
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Weekly visits to Dakota Wicozani Health Centre for First Nations community exposure.
- Community CancerCare Manitoba site offering exposure to outpatient chemotherapy delivery.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Family Medicine Block Time (FMBT) (Portage Clinic)
- PEDIATRICS (Children’s Hospital of Winnipeg)
- ICU / CCU (a Winnipeg community hospital)
- PALLIATIVE MEDICINE
- NOTRE DAME (One block · Notre Dame hospital & clinic)
- INTERNAL MEDICINE (Two blocks · St. Boniface Hospital)
- OBSTETRICS (Two blocks · St. Boniface Hospital)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 20267:00–8:30 pm CST
Info session · Virtual
Link for University of Manitoba, Thu 5 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Tue 17 Nov 20267:00–8:30 pm CST
Info session · Virtual
Link for University of Manitoba, Tue 17 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Wed 2 Dec 20267:00–8:00 pm CST
Info session · Virtual
Link for University of Manitoba, Wed 2 Dec 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Wed 9 Dec 20267:00–8:00 pm CST
Info session · VirtualCheck with the program
Link for University of Manitoba, Wed 9 Dec 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Teaching sites
- Portage Clinic (Portage la Prairie)
- Portage District General Hospital (Portage la Prairie)
- Dakota Wicozani Health Centre (rural or distributed site)
- Children’s Hospital of Winnipeg (Winnipeg)
- Notre Dame hospital & clinic (rural or distributed site)
- St. Boniface Hospital (Winnipeg)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Leah Peters
Postgraduate Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Michael Omichinski
Site Education Director/Site Medical Lead
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Rural Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −14.6 °C
- July average
- 19.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 137.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 41.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 13,270 people
- Official languages
- English only 93.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 9.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 29.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 89.8% · public transit 0.3% · walking or cycling 8.7% · other 1.2%
- Median household income
- $69,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Portage la Prairie, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.254
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 8.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $53,873 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage