Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Steinbach - Family Medicine

University of ManitobaRural Steinbach, ManitobaCompetitive stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved date not on file · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
7 positions
Length
Not stated on CaRMS page
Stream
Competitive
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Applicants offered interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
37262

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Training

Sites
Not stated on CaRMS page
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Selection

Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Applicants offered interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year
PGY-4
$89,329 / year
PGY-5
$95,285 / year
PGY-6
$101,119 / year
PGY-7
$109,017 / year
PGY-8
$117,531 / year

One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027.

Teaching sites

Not stated on CaRMS page

Unfilled positions in past years

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Rural Steinbach.

Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
20211 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
202200
20232 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202400
20252 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program director

  • Dr. Leah Peters

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Rural Steinbach, Manitoba

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−16.3 °C Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 59.1 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)
July average
19.5 °C Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 59.1 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)
Snowfall
126.2 cm a year Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 59.1 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)
Days below −20 °C
51.9 days a year Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 59.1 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the city)

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Steinbach, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
17,806 people up 11.1% from 2016
Official languages
English only 94.5% · French only 0.1% · English and French 4.3% · neither 1.1% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
21.3% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 5.5% · non-permanent residents: 1.4%
Indigenous identity
10.0% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 90.7% · public transit 0.2% · walking or cycling 7.1% · other 2.0% Average commute: 18.0 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$72,500 before tax $64,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Steinbach, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people) 17,589 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.229 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Student loan forgiveness
Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
1.9% October 2025 survey, Steinbach, Manitoba (census agglomeration). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$53,873 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Manitoba, population under 30,000, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Undetermined An employment outlook has not been assigned to this occupation in this region due to low levels of employment.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0132-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Employment and Social Development Canada, Canada Student Loan Forgiveness (Canada.ca), page dated 2026-06-03.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.