Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Winchester - Family Medicine

University of OttawaRural Winchester, OntarioCMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 9 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
Not yet posted on CaRMS
Length
2 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
35729

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This two-year family medicine program is based at Winchester District Memorial Hospital and uses a horizontally integrated rural curriculum.
  • Residents spend 2-4 days per week with a family medicine preceptor, plus hospitalist weeks, emergency shifts and weekend inpatient call.
  • Second year includes a two-week psychiatry rotation at the Ottawa Hospital, and residents return to Ottawa monthly for academic days.

Training

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Sites

3 teaching sites

  • Winchester District Memorial Hospital
  • Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
  • the Ottawa Hospital

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • POCUS curriculum
Call
frequency “at least one weekend per month”
Getting around
  • A car is required
Highlights
  • Family medicine residents are usually the only residents in the hospital, giving one-on-one attention.
  • Site POCUS training program with shared handheld Butterfly IQ+ units for residents.

By year

PGY-1
  • inpatient care as a hospitalist6 non-consecutive weeks
  • Family Medicine2-4 days per week
  • emergency departmentminimum of 15 shifts
PGY-2
  • Family Medicine2-4 days per week
  • psychiatrythe Ottawa Hospitaltwo-week
  • emergency department15 shifts

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
51–75%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
26, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Winchester District Memorial Hospital (Winchester)
  • Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
  • the Ottawa Hospital (Ottawa)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

krozon@uottawa.ca

Kim Rozon · Postgraduate Program Manager

Program directors

  • Dr. Sohil Rangwala

  • Dr. Adam Jones Delcorde

    Winchester Program DIrector

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Rural Winchester, Ontario

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−9.1 °C Kemptville, 24.0 km away
July average
20.8 °C Kemptville, 24.0 km away
Snowfall
231.9 cm a year Ottawa (Airport), 35.7 km away
Days below −20 °C
16.7 days a year Kemptville, 24.0 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of North Dundas, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
11,304 people up 0.2% from 2016
Official languages
English only 78.1% · French only 0.4% · English and French 21.5% · neither 0.1% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
5.5% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 0.3% · non-permanent residents: not reported
Indigenous identity
3.1% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 92.5% · public transit 0.6% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 1.8% Average commute: 29.4 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$90,000 before tax $79,000 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Winchester, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people) 2,417 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.144 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Rurality Index for Ontario
RIO2008 score 40 Official page(opens in a new tab)Ontario Ministry of Health, RIO2008 scores; page updated 2025-01-10; checked 9 Oct 2026
Student loan forgiveness
Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Basic cost of living
$52,873 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Ontario, population under 30,000, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Very good The employment outlook will be Very good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the Ottawa region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Employment and Social Development Canada, Canada Student Loan Forgiveness (Canada.ca), page dated 2026-06-03.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Ontario Ministry of Health, Rurality Index for Ontario (RIO2008) score, page updated 2025-01-10.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.