Sarnia - Family Medicine
Western UniversitySarnia, OntarioCMG streamNew for 2027
- 1 position
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 601+
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 37084
Summary
- This is Western University's two-year Sarnia family medicine residency, and training begins after a one-day orientation in London, Ontario.
- Applicants must take the FM-ProC situational judgement test, and interviews are held virtually.
Training
- Sites
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20, 23 and 24 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
Not stated on CaRMS page
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Daniel Grushka
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- Top Family Med Sites in Ontario (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Former regional FM resident on hospitalist/ER focus and shifts
Location
Sarnia, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 112.4 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 72,047 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.4% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 12.1% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 91.5% · public transit 2.1% · walking or cycling 4.9% · other 1.5%
- Median household income
- $77,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Sarnia, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.224
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $51,047 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage