Saskatoon - Diagnostic Radiology
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Diagnostic Radiology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35244
Summary
- The University of Saskatchewan Diagnostic Radiology program is a 5-year residency organized into four Competence By Design stages.
- Most training takes place at Royal University, Saskatoon City, St. Paul's and Jim Pattison Children's Hospitals in Saskatoon, plus affiliated clinics.
- Residents are expected to complete two research projects and attend the annual Resident Research Day.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Royal University Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
Show all 7Show fewer
- Jim Pattison Children’s Hospital
- Saskatoon Medical Imaging Clinic
- Saskatoon Wall Street Clinic
- City Hospital Breast Health Centre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Senior maternal-fetal medicine observership exposing residents to acute obstetrics and advanced fetal anomaly imaging.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to discipline (TTD))
- Internal Medicine (including GIM and Neurology) (Transition to discipline (TTD))
- Surgery (including General Surgery and Neurosurgery) (Transition to discipline (TTD))
- Obstetrics (Transition to discipline (TTD))
- Paediatrics (Transition to discipline (TTD))
- Radiology Department (Transition to discipline (TTD) · 1 block)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18 and 19 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon City Hospital (Saskatoon)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Jim Pattison Children’s Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon Medical Imaging Clinic (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon Wall Street Clinic (Saskatoon)
- City Hospital Breast Health Centre (Saskatoon)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Sapana Garde
Program Administrator
Program director
Dr. Jordan Russell
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −15.4 °C
- July average
- 18.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 91.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 49.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 266,141 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.1% · French only 0.0% · English and French 6.5% · neither 1.4%
- Immigrants
- 20.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 11.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 89.2% · public transit 3.4% · walking or cycling 5.4% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $85,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Saskatoon, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.1%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,881 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage