Saskatoon - Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
Also at USask, outside the CaRMS match: Rural and Regional Physician Enhancement Training, A third year of training; physicians’ funding prorated to program length, for residents (PGY-2) and practising or certified family physicians. Applications: No dates published (as of 10 Oct 2026). See it ›: Rural and Regional Physician Enhancement Training, on the list of programs applied for at the school
- 3 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34650
Summary
- This one-year Family Practice Anesthesia program trains family physicians to provide anesthesia services in rural Canada and leads to eligibility for a Certificate of Added Competence.
- Most training occurs in Saskatoon operating rooms, including obstetric, pediatric, ICU and adult anesthesia rotations.
- Residents spend two months in a Saskatchewan community hospital and may spend two weeks with a rural Family Practice Anesthesiologist.
- Practising family physicians may apply, and NRP and ACLS are required courses.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Royal University Hospital
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
Show all 8Show fewer
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- Victoria Hospital
- Battlefords Union Hospital
- Dr. F.H. Wigmore Regional Hospital
- Cypress Regional Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (2 weeks)
- Training language
- English
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Obstetric Anesthesia (2 months · Royal University Hospital, Jim Pattison Children's Hospital)
- Pediatric Anesthesia (1 month · Jim Pattison Children's Hospital)
- ICU (1 month · Royal University Hospital)
- Adult General Anesthesia & Consults (5-6 months · Royal University Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital, Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Community Anesthesia (2 months · North Battleford and/or Prince Albert)
- Rural Practice Anesthesia (2 weeks · Melfort and/or Meadow Lake communities)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 3 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon City Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Victoria Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
- Battlefords Union Hospital (North Battleford · rural or distributed site)
- Dr. F.H. Wigmore Regional Hospital (Moose Jaw · rural or distributed site)
- Cypress Regional Hospital (Swift Current · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Chelsea Malkowich · Department of Anesthesia, Perioperative Medicine, and Pain Management Program Administrator
Georgie Blackwell
Enhanced Skills Coordinator
Program director
Dr. Matthew Johnson
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- USask Family Medicine(opens in a new tab)
- City of Saskatoon(opens in a new tab)
- Tourism Saskatoon(opens in a new tab)
- Saskatoon Regional Economic Development Authority(opens in a new tab)
- Sask Houses (Private Home Sales)(opens in a new tab)
- Saskatoon Region Association of Realtors(opens in a new tab)
- Tourism Saskatchewan(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −15.4 °C
- July average
- 18.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 91.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 49.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 266,141 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.1% · French only 0.0% · English and French 6.5% · neither 1.4%
- Immigrants
- 20.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 11.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 89.2% · public transit 3.4% · walking or cycling 5.4% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $85,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Saskatoon, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.1%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,881 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.9%