Saskatoon - Neurosurgery
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream
- 1 position
- 6 years
- CMG
- Neurosurgery
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35587
Summary
- The University of Saskatchewan Neurosurgery residency is a 6-year program, with at least twelve months of neurosurgery in PGY-1 and 2.
- Residents complete 30 additional months of clinical neurosurgery in PGY-3 to 6, and one year may be spent in research or subspecialty training.
- Call is home call, and pediatrics and spine are integrated into daily work rather than separate rotations.
Training
- Sites
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Early independence
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Call
- Home call
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Research opportunities include neurosurgical applications of the synchrotron.
- Pediatric neurosurgery and spine are integrated into daily work rather than separate rotations.
- Up to six months of the research/subspecialty year may be spent outside Saskatchewan.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- General Surgery/Trauma (PGY-1 and 2)
- Plastics (PGY-1 and 2)
- Ortho Spine (PGY-1 and 2)
- ICU (PGY-1 and 2)
- Emergency Medicine (PGY-1 and 2)
- Neurology (PGY-1 and 2)
- neurosurgery (PGY-1 and 2 · at least twelve months)
- clinical neurosurgery (PGY-3 to 6 · 30 additional months)
- outpatient clinic (PGY-3 to 6)
- Cerebrovascular Neurosurgery (PGY-3 to 6)
- Neuroradiology (PGY-3 to 6)
- Neuropathology (PGY-3 to 6)
- Peripheral Nerve (PGY-3 to 6)
- basic or clinical research (PGY-3 to 6 · One year)
- community neurosurgery rotation (Electives · Regina)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
| PGY-6 | $99,065 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
Not stated on CaRMS page
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Syed Uzair Ahmed
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −15.4 °C
- July average
- 18.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 91.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 49.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 266,141 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.1% · French only 0.0% · English and French 6.5% · neither 1.4%
- Immigrants
- 20.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 11.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 89.2% · public transit 3.4% · walking or cycling 5.4% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $85,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Saskatoon, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.1%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,881 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage