Saskatoon - Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG streamNew for 2027
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
- 0–50
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36983
Summary
- This is a new five-year Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery residency at the University of Saskatchewan, admitting alternately 2 and 1 residents per year.
- Training is based in Saskatoon, with community otolaryngology rotations in Prince Albert and Regina.
- The curriculum includes a two-block protected research rotation and five blocks of elective time.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Urban community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- St. Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (JPCH)
- Royal University Hospital (RUH)
Show all 10Show fewer
- Avenue ENT
- Saskatoon ENT
- Prairieview Surgical Centre (PVSC)
- Face Cosmetic and Reconstructive Surgery
- Victoria General Hospital
- Regina General Hospital
- Pasqua Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Residents train without other learners in the program, so senior trainees do not take clinical or operative opportunities.
- Thoracic surgery rotation that emphasizes robotic surgery skills.
- Junior Attending block in Transition to Practice, paired with a mentor the resident chooses.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Otolaryngology - general (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
- General Internal Medicine (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
- Trauma Surgery (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
- Anesthesiology (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
- Neurosurgery (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
- Pediatric Otolaryngology (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
- Diagnostic Imaging (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
- Otolaryngology - general (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
- Critical Care Medicine (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
- Plastic Surgery (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
- Oral Maxillofacial Surgery (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
- Pediatric Otolaryngology (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
- Oculoplastics (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 1 block)
- Thoracic Surgery (Transition to Discipline Stage and Foundations of Discipline Stage · 2 blocks)
- Research (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Otolaryngology - General (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Head & Neck Oncology (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Otology/Neurotology (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Rhinology (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Elective (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Laryngology (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Prince Albert - Community Otolaryngology (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks · Prince Albert)
- Elective (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Facial Plastics and Reconstructive Surgery (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Pediatric Otolaryngology (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Head & Neck Oncology (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Elective (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Oral Pathology (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Study time (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Prince Albert - Community Otolaryngology (Core of Discipline · 1 block · Prince Albert)
- Elective (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Head & Neck Oncology (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Otology/Neurotology (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Junior Attending (Transition to Practice · 1 block)
- Regina - Community Otolaryngology (Transition to Practice · 1 block · Regina)
- Head & Neck Oncology (Transition to Practice · 1 block)
- Elective (Transition to Practice · 1 block)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- St. Paul's Hospital (SPH) (Saskatoon)
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (JPCH) (Saskatoon)
- Royal University Hospital (RUH) (Saskatoon)
- Avenue ENT (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon ENT (Saskatoon)
- Prairieview Surgical Centre (PVSC) (Saskatoon)
- Face Cosmetic and Reconstructive Surgery (Saskatoon)
- Victoria General Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
- Regina General Hospital (Regina · rural or distributed site)
- Pasqua Hospital (Regina · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Neil Arnstead
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −15.4 °C
- July average
- 18.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 91.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 49.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 266,141 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.1% · French only 0.0% · English and French 6.5% · neither 1.4%
- Immigrants
- 20.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 11.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 89.2% · public transit 3.4% · walking or cycling 5.4% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $85,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Saskatoon, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.1%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,881 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage