Sault Ste. Marie - Psychiatry
NOSM UniversitySault Ste. Marie, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Psychiatry
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 35258
Summary
- NOSM University's five-year Psychiatry program is one integrated program distributed across North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie and Thunder Bay.
- Residents matched here live in Sault Ste. Marie and may spend up to 18 months at other program sites.
- Residents must complete a research project, and NOSM U supports travel and housing for core rotations away from the home site.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Sault Ste. Marie
- North Bay
- Sudbury
Show all 4Show fewer
- Thunder Bay
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Northern
- Small program
- Early independence
- Indigenous health
- Research
- Required · research project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Distributed psychiatry training across four Northern Ontario cities, with up to 18 months away from the home site.
- Travel and housing support for core rotations away from the home site.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- combination of Psychiatry Inpatient/Outpatient (Transition to Discipline · first 3 blocks PGY1)
- Addictions (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Neurology (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Family Medicine (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Emergency Psychiatry (Foundations I · 1 Block)
- Selectives/Elective (Foundations I · 4 Blocks)
- Personalized Learning in Psychiatry (Foundations II · 1 Block)
- Inpatient Psychiatry (Foundations II · 6 Blocks)
- Outpatient Psychiatry (Foundations II · 6 Blocks)
- Longitudinal Psychotherapy training (Core of Discipline · weekly basis during the entirety of Core)
- Geriatric Psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 6 Blocks)
- Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 6 Blocks)
- SPMI training (Core of Discipline · 6 blocks)
- Addictions medicine/psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 2-3 blocks)
- Consultation Liaison Psychiatry (Core of Discipline · 3-4 blocks)
- Collaborative/shared care (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Personalized learning year in Psychiatry (Transition to Practice)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 29 and 30 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Sault Ste. Marie (Sault Ste. Marie)
- North Bay (North Bay · rural or distributed site)
- Sudbury (Sudbury · rural or distributed site)
- Thunder Bay (Thunder Bay · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2023 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Kathleen Anderson
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.8 °C
- July average
- 17.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 324.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 20.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 72,051 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.3% · French only 0.0% · English and French 9.3% · neither 0.4%
- Immigrants
- 8.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 11.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 90.7% · public transit 2.9% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 1.4%
- Median household income
- $73,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Sault Ste. Marie, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.321
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $51,047 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage