Skip to content
CdnMD

Sault Ste. Marie - Public Health and Preventive Medicine

NOSM UniversitySault Ste. Marie, OntarioIMG stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 8 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
1 position
Length
5 years
Stream
IMG
Discipline
Public Health and Preventive Medicine
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
36523

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This five-year Public Health and Preventive Medicine program is based in Sault Ste. Marie, with clinical training at Sault Area Hospital and field placements at Algoma Public Health.
  • Training includes at least one year of clinical training tailored to public health, at least two semesters of graduate studies, and a scholarly project.
  • Residents train at sites across Northern Ontario and must relocate during training, with travel and housing support for core rotations away from home.

Training

Setting
  • Public health agency
  • Regional community
Sites

2 teaching sites

  • Sault Area Hospital
  • Algoma Public Health

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed
Highlights
  • Final-year Leadership and Management rotation acting as an associate medical officer of health.
  • Affiliation with the University of Global Health Equity in Butaro, Rwanda.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Public Health (Transition to PHPM)
  • Family Medicine (Transition to PHPM)
  • Communicable Disease Control (Core PHPM training)
  • Environmental Health (Core PHPM training)
  • Health Policy and Planning (Core PHPM training)
  • Health Promotion, Chronic Disease Prevention, and Injury Prevention (Core PHPM training)
  • Leadership and Management (Transition to independent PHPM practice)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · this stream
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
0–25%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
19 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 1 Oct 2026. Dates and times are as the program wrote them, not converted to your time zone. Programs add and change sessions: confirm with the program.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Sault Area Hospital (Sault Ste. Marie)
  • Algoma Public Health (Sault Ste. Marie)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

Unfilled positions in past years

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late. It says nothing about the quality of the training. Verify with the CaRMS lists. Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)). A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

“Applications will only be considered through submission on CaRMS.ca. Please do not apply via email to the Program Coordinator.” · the program’s note on CaRMS

rmaskevich@nosm.ca

Rebecca Maskevich · Program Coordinator

Program directors

“Applications will only be considered through submission on CaRMS.ca. Please do not apply via email to the Program Coordinator.” · the program’s note on CaRMS

  • Dr. Emily Groot

  • Dr. Reed Morrison

    Associate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−9.8 °C Sault Ste Marie, 14.6 km away
July average
17.9 °C Sault Ste Marie, 14.6 km away
Snowfall
324.9 cm a year Sault Ste Marie, 14.6 km away
Days below −20 °C
20.5 days a year Sault Ste Marie, 14.6 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Sault Ste. Marie, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
72,051 people down 1.8% from 2016
Official languages
English only 90.3% · French only 0.0% · English and French 9.3% · neither 0.4% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
8.5% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 0.8% · non-permanent residents: 1.3%
Indigenous identity
11.9% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 90.7% · public transit 2.9% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 1.4% Average commute: 13.2 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$73,000 before tax $65,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Sault Ste. Marie, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people) 64,923 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.321 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.5% October 2025 survey, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario (census agglomeration). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$51,047 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Ontario, population 30,000 to 99,999, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine (NOC 31100) in the Northeast region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0131-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 6 Oct 2026.