Sherbrooke - Internal Medicine
Université de SherbrookeSherbrooke, QuebecRegular stream
- 34 positions
- 3 years
- Regular
- Internal Medicine
- 201–400
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 36157
Summary
- This is a 3-year core internal medicine program based at CHUS Hôpital Fleurimont and Hôtel-Dieu in Sherbrooke.
- Residents may complete most of their training at Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne in Longueuil or at Hôpital de Chicoutimi.
- All residents must complete a research project, with one full period devoted to it.
- Interviews are held virtually on Teams.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Santé Québec Estrie CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont
- Santé Québec Estrie CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu
- Institut universitaire de gériatrie - pavillon Argyll
Show all 8Show fewer
- Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne
- Hôtel-Dieu d'Arthabaska
- Hôpital Ste-Croix
- Santé Québec Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean - Universitaire - Hôpital de Chicoutimi
- Hôpital Georges-L-Dumont
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Option to complete most of residency at Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (about 25 of 39 periods).
- Departmental bursary lets interested residents interrupt clinical training for a full year of research.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Dermatologie (x1)
- Endocrinologie (x1 ou x2)
- Gastroentérologie (x1 ou x2)
- Gériatrie (x1 ou x2)
- Hématologie (x1 ou x2)
- Microbiologie-infectiologie (x1 ou x2)
- Néphrologie (x1 ou x2)
- Neurologie (x1 ou x2)
- Pneumologie (x1 ou x2)
- Rhumatologie (x1 ou x2)
- Biochimie (disponible)
- Soins intensifs médicaux (x1)
- Médecine interne – Urgence (x1)
- Médecine interne – Unité d’enseignement (x2)
- Cardiologie (x2)
- Soins intensifs médicaux HCLM (x1 · HCLM)
- Soins intensifs coronariens (x1)
- Soins intensifs médicaux (x 1)
- Médecine interne – Unité d’enseignement - Universitaire (x2)
- Médecine interne – Unité d’enseignement – Communautaire (x 2)
- Médecine interne – Consultations (x 3)
- Médecine interne – Soins ambulatoires (x 1)
- Stage à option (x 3)
- Recherche (x 1)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 201–400
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 3 and 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Santé Québec Estrie CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
- Santé Québec Estrie CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu (Sherbrooke)
- Institut universitaire de gériatrie - pavillon Argyll (Sherbrooke)
- Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (Longueuil · rural or distributed site)
- Hôtel-Dieu d'Arthabaska (Victoriaville · rural or distributed site)
- Hôpital Ste-Croix (Drummondville · rural or distributed site)
- Santé Québec Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean - Universitaire - Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)
- Hôpital Georges-L-Dumont (Moncton)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Santé Québec Estrie CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532
- Licensed beds
- physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20
Santé Québec Estrie CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 18,578 · 2026–2027: 18,319
- Licensed beds
- physical health 216 · psychiatry 105
Institut universitaire de gériatrie - pavillon Argyll
- Licensed beds
- geriatrics 40
Show facts for 4 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629
- Licensed beds
- physical health 571
Hôtel-Dieu d'Arthabaska
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,564 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 151 · psychiatry 24 · geriatrics 24 · neonatology 4
Hôpital Ste-Croix
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 17,461 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 154 · psychiatry 25 · geriatrics 18 · neonatology 4
Santé Québec Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean - Universitaire - Hôpital de Chicoutimi
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 20,522 · 2026–2027: 21,228
- Licensed beds
- physical health 311 · psychiatry 57 · neonatology 19 · hôtellerie 21
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Manuelle Barbeau
Secrétaire direction de programme
Program director
Dr(e) Isabelle Boulais
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Sherbrooke, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.5 °C
- July average
- 19.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 290.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.1 days a year
People
- Population
- 172,950 people
- Official languages
- English only 1.7% · French only 51.6% · English and French 46.1% · neither 0.7%
- Immigrants
- 8.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.7% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 87.3% · public transit 4.9% · walking or cycling 6.4% · other 1.4%
- Median household income
- $62,400 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Sherbrooke, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.156
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $47,414 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage