Sherbrooke - Neurology
Université de SherbrookeSherbrooke, QuebecRegular stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Neurology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35415
Summary
- This is a five-year neurology residency at Université de Sherbrooke, with CHUS as the main training site.
- Rotations at Hôpital Charles-LeMoyne and CHU Ste-Justine are mandatory, and other sites are available as electives.
- All residents must submit a research project starting in R2, and an optional clinician-researcher program adds one year with protected research time.
- The interview is virtual and takes place on 2 February 2027.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- CHUS (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke)
- Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne incluant la clinique Neuro Rive-Sud
- Hôpital Ste-Justine
Show all 11Show fewer
- CHUL (centre mère-enfant de Québec)
- l'hôpital pour enfants de Montréal
- Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
- Hôpital de Chicoutimi
- Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Sacré-Cœur
- Pierre-Boucher
- Trois-Rivières
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Early independence
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Supervised autonomy on call starting in R2, with direct contact with referring physicians.
- Residents can become competent and independent in EEG and EMG by the end of residency.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Progression vers la discipline)
- Psychiatrie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- Neurochirurgie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- MD urgence (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- Soins intensifs (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- MD interne (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
- Cardiologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- Rhumatologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- Gériatrie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- Maladies infectieuses (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
- Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 7-8 périodes · CHUS et/ou CHCLM)
- Neurologie générale Chicoutimi (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · Chicoutimi)
- Recherche (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période minimum)
- Neuroradiologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 à 3 périodes)
- Électifs (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 à 3 périodes)
- EEG (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3-4 périodes)
- EMG (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3-4 périodes)
- Neuropédiatrie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 périodes · Ste-Justine ou Children-1 période possible CHUS Fleurimont)
- Neuropathologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 périodes)
- Cliniques externes spécialisées (Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes minimum · CHUS et/ou Neuro Rive-Sud)
- Neuropsychiatrie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
- Recherche (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 périodes minimum)
- Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Maîtrise de la discipline · 6 périodes · CHUS et/ou CHCLM et/ou Chicoutimi)
- Soins palliatifs (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
- Électifs (Maîtrise de la discipline)
- Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Transition vers la pratique · 3 périodes minimum · CHUS et/ou CHCLM)
- EEG (Transition vers la pratique · 3-4 périodes)
- EMG (Transition vers la pratique · 3-4 périodes)
- Électifs (Transition vers la pratique)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 2 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- CHUS (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke) (Sherbrooke)
- Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne incluant la clinique Neuro Rive-Sud
- Hôpital Ste-Justine (Montréal)
- CHUL (centre mère-enfant de Québec) (Québec)
- l'hôpital pour enfants de Montréal (Montréal)
- Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) (Québec)
- Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)
- Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Sacré-Cœur
- Pierre-Boucher
- Trois-Rivières (Trois-Rivières · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
CHUS (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke)
CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532
- Licensed beds
- physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20
CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 18,578 · 2026–2027: 18,319
- Licensed beds
- physical health 216 · psychiatry 105
Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne incluant la clinique Neuro Rive-Sud
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629
- Licensed beds
- physical health 571
Hôpital Ste-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Show facts for 7 more sitesShow fewer
CHUL (centre mère-enfant de Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
- Licensed beds
- physical health 296 · neonatology 56
l'hôpital pour enfants de Montréal
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
- Licensed beds
- physical health 335
Hôpital de Chicoutimi
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 20,522 · 2026–2027: 21,228
- Licensed beds
- physical health 311 · psychiatry 57 · neonatology 19 · hôtellerie 21
Maisonneuve-Rosemont
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Sacré-Cœur
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Pierre-Boucher
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 23,690 · 2026–2027: 24,579
- Licensed beds
- physical health 334 · psychiatry 35 · neonatology 15
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr(e) Marie-France Rioux
Directrice du programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Sherbrooke, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.5 °C
- July average
- 19.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 290.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.1 days a year
People
- Population
- 172,950 people
- Official languages
- English only 1.7% · French only 51.6% · English and French 46.1% · neither 0.7%
- Immigrants
- 8.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.7% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 87.3% · public transit 4.9% · walking or cycling 6.4% · other 1.4%
- Median household income
- $62,400 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Sherbrooke, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.156
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $47,414 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage